Gear check
BLACK+DECKER Crisp 'N Bake Air Fryer Oven review
BLACK+DECKER Crisp 'N Bake Air Fryer Toaster Oven Combo, 12 in 1 Countertop Convection Oven Cooks Food Fast, Fits a Whole Pizza or 6 Toast Slices, French Doors with Stainless Steel Finish
How the Dude Score is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon rating (base) | 4.3★ | +86.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | 1,837 reviews | +1.6 (min 0) |
| Critical owner-feedback signal | Moderate | -1.0 (min -2) |
| DudeScore Build & Materials | 80/100 | +1.2 (min -3) |
| DudeScore Safety Signals | 78/100 | +1.1 (min -4) |
| DudeScore Long-term Durability | 78/100 | +1.1 (min -3) |
| Final Dude Score | 90.0 | |
DudeScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of the star average — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type (e.g. build & durability for consumables).
intro
This review breaks down the BLACK+DECKER Crisp 'N Bake Air Fryer Toaster Oven so you can decide whether it belongs on your counter. The listing positions it as an extra-large, 12-in-1 countertop convection oven with French doors and a stainless-steel finish that can handle a 12" pizza or six slices of toast. Owners consistently praise the convenience and versatility; a smaller group reports arrival damage or heating problems. Below I cover what the unit is, how it performs day to day, materials and build details the listing provides, safety signals from owners and the product copy, and who should consider it — plus a practical checklist to run through before you buy.
What it is / first look
At a glance the Crisp 'N Bake is BLACK+DECKER's countertop air fryer oven that combines convection baking, air frying and toasting functions in one unit. The listing gives these headline specs and features:
- Manufacturer / model: BLACK+DECKER, model TO62D5-1SD.
- Power and electrical: the listing shows an output wattage of 1652 watts, a wattage field of 1650 watts, and a rated voltage of 110 volts.
- Size and weight: item dimensions are listed as 15.1" D x 14.6" W x 12.5" H and item weight as 9.55 kg.
- Capacity and fit: the product copy says it will cook a 12" family-size pizza or 6 slices of toast; the spec sheet also lists Capacity: 12 cubic inches (the listing contains both statements).
- Materials called out by the listing: both outer material and inner material are listed as stainless steel; the overall finish is described as stainless steel with French doors and stainless-steel accents.
- Controls and features: the listing lists Special Features such as Adjustable Rack, LED Display, Large Capacity, and Timer, and lists Control Method as Touch. The product text also describes an "intuitive selection dial with cooking indicator" that turns red when cooking and blue when paused/standby.
- Cooking modes: the unit ships with 12 preset cooking functions (Convection Baking, Bake, Pizza, Broil, Air Fry, Fries, Reheat, Toast, Bagel, Keep Warm, Roast, and Snacks) and uses "Rapid Air Circulation" indicated in the listing as the air-frying technology.
- Included components: Air Fry Basket, Bake Pan, Crumb Tray, and Rack are listed as included.
- Temperature range: the listing gives a Min Temperature Setting of 77 °C and a Max Temperature Setting of 230 °F (both values are in the listing, in different units).
- Smart home: the listing explicitly says Not Smart Home Compatible.
Visually, the listing emphasizes a stainless-steel exterior and French doors for front access. The images and copy focus on a compact, extra-large footprint that’s meant to be a counter-ready alternative to a full oven for family-size or multi-person cooking.
In daily use
Owners’ comments cluster around a few practical themes: versatility, a learning curve with the presets and timing, generally quiet operation, and everyday convenience. Below I translate those patterns into concrete use cases.
For small kitchens, apartments, and second kitchens
The unit is clearly aimed at cooks who want oven-style results without firing up a full-size range. Owners report it handles single-pan meals, roasted vegetables, and reheats well — and that it’s a good choice for people who want a smaller footprint than a conventional oven. The product copy and owner feedback both highlight the ability to cook full family meals in a compact unit and call out the explicit ability to hold a 12" pizza or six slices of toast.
For everyday toasting and snacks
Multiple owners say they replaced a standalone toaster or old air fryer and now use this daily for bagels, toast, fries, chicken nuggets and similar snacks. The included Air Fry Basket and multiple racks give flexibility for reheats and batch snacking, and owners report it’s quiet in operation.
For small-family meals and occasional baking
The convection fan and baking modes are repeatedly praised for faster cook times and more even heat circulation. Owners note a shorter cooking time thanks to the convection fan (the listing claims the fan "cuts cooking time by over 2.5x"). There’s also a learning curve: owners say the manual is basic and there are no included recipes, so expect to adjust conventional oven recipes and timing as you learn the unit’s behavior. One common tip in owner notes is to turn items halfway through cooking for more even results.
Where it struggles
Pizza and thick items need attention. Several owners described a situation where the pizza edges and cheese browned before the center dough cooked through when using the Pizza preset; one owner said they’ll use a prebaked shell next time. Another owner noted the included tray can bend under a round pizza and lift the edges. There are also isolated reports that units arrived damaged or failed to heat properly; those appear to be shipping or early-failure issues rather than a universal design flaw, but they’re worth keeping in mind.
Materials & build quality
The listing is fairly specific about materials and build cues but not exhaustive. These are the listing facts and the owner-sourced signals you’ll want to weigh.
- Materials (listed): both outer material and inner material are listed as stainless steel, and the overall finish is described as stainless steel with stainless-steel accents. Treat those as manufacturer/listing descriptions.
- Construction and components: the unit ships with an Air Fry Basket, Bake Pan, Crumb Tray, and Rack. The listing calls the accessories dishwasher-safe; owners also mention that these parts are easy to clean once the unit cools.
- Controls and fit: the listing has a mix of control descriptions — Control Method is listed as Touch, but product copy describes a single selection dial with a cooking indicator light. Owner feedback aligns more with the selection dial description: people reference a single knob and an indicator that changes color between active and standby modes.
- Footprint and capacity: the item dimensions are 15.1" D x 14.6" W x 12.5" H and item weight is 9.55 kg, which makes it a serious countertop appliance rather than a compact travel toaster. The listing calls the size Extra Large and emphasizes the ability to hold a 12" pizza or six slices of toast.
- Performance gear: electrically the listing shows ~1650 watts of power (1650–1652 W shown across fields) at 110 volts — enough power to do convection and air-fry style cooking on a countertop oven design.
Owner reports generally describe a well-made feeling unit with good day-to-day performance: quiet fan, even heat once you learn the presets, and fast cooling thanks to a fan that runs after cooking. A few owners noted small fit-and-finish downsides — the included tray bent under a pizza in one case and a small number of purchasers reported receiving a damaged unit in shipping. No pattern of coating flaking, loose handles, or missing hardware shows up in the owner notes provided.
Safety considerations
Kitchen safety comes first: specifically look for hot surfaces, stability, electrical rating and accessory fit. Here’s what the listing and owners say that bears on safety.
- Heating and ventilation: the listing describes a convection fan and "Rapid Air Circulation" for air frying. Owners note the fan runs after cooking to cool the unit, which is a positive safety/thermal management behavior described in the product copy and owner feedback.
- Temperature specs: the listing gives a Min Temperature Setting of 77 °C and a Max Temperature Setting of 230 °F. These two values are presented in different units in the listing; verify the current listing or manual for the operating range you need.
- Controls and user interface: owner notes mention audible beeps whenever selections or timers are changed and that the beep cannot be turned off — this may be a nuisance in quiet spaces but isn’t described as a safety hazard. The listing also notes an LED/indicator that turns red while cooking and blue during standby, which helps you quickly see whether the unit is active.
- Shipping and defects: a small number of owners reported receiving damaged units or a unit that would not bake. These are shipping or early-failure events, but they do underline the importance of inspecting the unit on delivery and testing it quickly while the return window is open.
- Accessories and handling: owners recommend simple protective tools — silicone mitts, parchment liners for the fryer basket, and a wooden hook or rack puller to remove hot racks. The listing says the included accessories are dishwasher-safe, which owners cite as an easy-clean benefit.
Because the listing names stainless steel for both inner and outer materials, the product appears to avoid flyaway coatings that can flake; however, that is a listing description and not an independent verification. If you have specific food-contact material sensitivities or certification requirements, the listing does not provide third‑party certification details — the listing does say the manufacturer's warranty can be requested through customer service.
Who this is for / who should skip
Different cooks have different needs. Here’s a breakdown to help you decide if the Crisp 'N Bake fits your kitchen and cooking style.
Good fit if you:
- Want a multi-function countertop oven that can toast, air fry, bake and reheat without using a full-size range — owners repeatedly praise its versatility.
- Cook for 1–3 people or need a smaller oven for side dishes and snacks — the listing emphasizes the ability to do family-style 12" pizzas and six slices of toast in a compact footprint.
- Prefer a stainless-steel look and French doors for easier access — the listing highlights stainless-steel accents and French doors as design features.
- Like preset cooking modes and an indicator light that shows when the unit is active — both the listing and owners mention the red/blue cooking indicator.
Skip (or think twice) if you:
- Need precise, cookbook-ready control out of the box — owner notes mention a learning curve, a basic manual, and no included recipe book, so you’ll need to adapt cooking times and temperatures.
- Require smart-home integration — the listing explicitly says Not Smart Home Compatible.
- Are worried about receiving a damaged or defective unit — a small number of owners reported shipping damage or a unit that didn’t heat; inspect immediately on arrival.
- Plan to cook very large roasts or sheet-pan dinners that exceed the footprint or rack configuration — measure carefully against the listed dimensions before you buy.
Verdict
The BLACK+DECKER Crisp 'N Bake Air Fryer Toaster Oven is a practical, feature-packed countertop option for cooks who want toaster-oven capacity with air-fry and convection convenience. The listing and owner feedback together paint a picture of a well-built stainless-steel unit with a useful set of presets, a roomy interior that can handle a 12" pizza and multiple slices of toast, and accessories that make cleanup easier. Owners consistently praise its day-to-day convenience, quiet running, and the way the convection fan speeds cooking.
Counterpoints are real but limited: some buyers received damaged units, and a few reported heating problems. There’s also a learning curve — the manual is minimal and there are no recipes included, so expect to spend a few uses dialing in times and turning items mid-cycle for even results. If you’re comfortable troubleshooting timing and possibly exchanging an occasional defective shipment, the unit offers a lot of utility for the price class it occupies.
Check before you buy
- Confirm the countertop space and clearance needed for the French doors given the listed dimensions (15.1" D x 14.6" W x 12.5" H).
- Verify the temperature range and that the Min (listed as 77 °C) and Max (listed as 230 °F) meet your cooking needs — these are shown in mixed units in the listing.
- Inspect the unit immediately on delivery for shipping damage and test a short bake or toast cycle while your return window is still open; owner notes include isolated reports of damaged arrivals and a unit that wouldn’t bake.
- Expect a learning curve: the owner manual is basic and the listing doesn’t include a recipe booklet. Plan to adjust conventional oven recipes and try turning items mid-cycle for even cooking.
- Keep or request warranty details from manufacturer customer service — the listing says the manufacturer’s warranty can be requested from customer service but does not state a warranty length in the listing detail.
- Consider small accessories that owners recommend: parchment paper liners for the fryer basket, silicone mitts, and a rack puller for safe handling of hot racks and pans.
Available colors (from the listing and images):
- stainless steel
Overall, the Crisp 'N Bake is a versatile, counter-friendly appliance that delivers oven-style results with the convenience of air frying and preset modes. For many home cooks—especially those in small kitchens or anyone wanting to consolidate appliances—this model looks like a strong everyday option, provided you buy from a retailer with a good return policy and check the unit on arrival.
Frequently asked questions
Will this fit a 12-inch pizza or six slices of toast?
Yes — the listing states the oven can cook a 12" family-size pizza or 6 slices of toast. The spec sheet also lists Capacity: 12 cubic inches (both appear in the product details).
What cooking functions and technology does it use?
The listing advertises 12 preset cooking functions including Convection Baking, Pizza, Air Fry, Roast, Toast and more, and lists the air-frying technology as Rapid Air Circulation (convection fan).
What materials is the oven made from?
The listing lists both the outer material and inner material as stainless steel and describes a stainless-steel finish; treat that as the manufacturer's description.
What is the wattage and electrical requirement?
The listing shows an output wattage of 1652 watts (also lists wattage as 1650 watts) and a voltage of 110 volts.
Is this smart home compatible or app-controlled?
No — the listing explicitly states Not Smart Home Compatible.
Are the accessories dishwasher-safe?
The product copy states that the included Air Fry Basket, Bake Pan, Crumb Tray and Rack are dishwasher-safe.
How long is the warranty?
The listing says the manufacturer's warranty can be requested from customer service but does not specify a warranty length; contact the manufacturer or seller for current warranty details.
Is it loud when operating?
Owners report the unit is very quiet in operation; several owner notes describe it as quiet enough that you must stand near it to hear the pause function beeps.
Think it’s right for your kitchen?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.