VEVOR
VEVOR IMC25 undercounter ice maker review
VEVOR Under Counter Ice Maker Machine, Crescent Ice, 25 Lbs/Day Stainless Steel Built in Ice Maker with Reversible Door, 22Lbs Storage Ice Maker Machine for Commercial Home Kitchen, No Drain Required
How the Dude Score is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon rating (base) | 5.0★ | +100.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | 6 reviews | +0.4 (min 0) |
| Critical owner-feedback signal | No clear signal | +0.0 (min -2) |
| DudeScore Build & Materials | 78/100 | +1.1 (min -3) |
| DudeScore Safety Signals | 78/100 | +1.1 (min -4) |
| DudeScore Long-term Durability | 69/100 | +0.8 (min -3) |
| Final Dude Score | 97.5 | |
DudeScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of the star average — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type (e.g. build & durability for consumables).
Intro
This VEVOR IMC25 is a compact undercounter-built ice maker that the listing positions for home and light commercial use. The manufacturer lists a 25 pound per day ice production rate, a 22 pound storage bin and a reversible stainless-steel door; owners report the unit delivers solid output and keeps ice frozen like a small freezer, but a small number of buyers have experienced a control failure that caused continuous ice production. Below I walk through how the machine performs in everyday setups, what the specs actually say, what owners repeatedly report, and the safety and installation details to confirm before you buy.
What it is / first look
The VEVOR IMC25 is sold as an undercounter built-in ice maker (model IMC25, item weight 56 pounds). The listing states it produces up to 25 pounds of crescent-shaped ice per 24 hours and stores up to 22 pounds in the internal ice basket. Ice dimensions are listed as 0.47 x 0.79 x 2.36 inches, produced in a 12-cube aluminum tray with ice available in as fast as 20 minutes.
Key hard specs from the listing:
- Ice production per day: 25 pounds
- Ice storage capacity: 22 pounds
- Ice shape & size: crescent ice, 0.47 x 0.79 x 2.36 inch
- Ice tray: 12-cube aluminum tray
- Dimensions (D x W x H): 17.13" x 14.96" x 28.74"
- Unit weight: 56 pounds
- Voltage: 110 volts
- Refrigerant: R134a
- Material type: stainless steel
- No drain required (interior freezer compartment)
- Reversible stainless steel door with full-length handle
- ETL certified (listed)
The listing also says the body is built with three-layer construction and thick insulation, and claims that this helps keep ice frozen longer and reduces energy consumption. Operation is described as one-button simplicity; included items called out in the listing are an installation kit, user manual and an ice scoop.
In daily use
Owners' lived experience is an important signal here. Recurrent themes from buyer feedback help paint a practical picture of the day-to-day reality.
Output and ice quality
The listing's 25 lb/day output and 22 lb bin capacity match owner reports that the unit produces plenty of ice for household use and small gatherings. Several owners say the crescent ice stays frozen longer than the smaller cube-style pieces they had before and fills drink needs for daily use. One buyer noted they were filling a 40 oz mug multiple times a day and relied on the machine to keep up.
Noise and heat
Some owners explicitly contrast this unit with prior cube-only machines that were louder and produced more heat; those owners report the IMC25 runs quietly and doesn’t produce excessive ambient heat. The listing does not give a decibel rating, so "quiet" is based on owner reports rather than a spec.
Running it in different setups
Under-counter and built-in installs
The unit is listed as suitable for undercounter built-in installation and is offered with a reversible door to allow left- or right-hinge placement. The listing recommends 50 mm of clearance at the sides and top for proper installation — an important dimension to check against your cabinet opening.
Freestanding, patio, RVs and boats
The product page specifically lists that the unit can be used freestanding and even on patios, RVs and boats, and highlights that it has an interior freezing compartment so it does not require drainage. If you want a model with a drain, the listing shows alternate variants that include drain options.
Controls, maintenance and defrosting
Operation is described as "one-button" simplicity on the listing. The interior is an always-frozen compartment and the listing recommends manual defrosting every 4–6 weeks for efficient use. Owners mention the interior behaves like a small freezer and that manual cleaning/defrosting is part of routine maintenance.
Common owner-reported reliability patterns
Most owner feedback is strongly positive, describing steady output and satisfaction with value. However, there is a reported failure mode to note: at least one owner experienced a control problem after roughly six months where the machine continued making ice even when the bin was full, forcing the door open and spilling ice. That owner worked with VEVOR service and the manufacturer ultimately agreed to send a replacement unit. The pattern here is "good output and performance for many months" with at least one notable, resolved reliability incident. That mixed signal should influence expectations about long-term reliability and the need to keep documentation for warranty/service.
Materials & build quality
The listing lists the material type as stainless steel and describes a three-layer construction with thick insulation in the middle to improve cold retention. The ice tray is listed as aluminum and the door is described as a reversible stainless steel door with a full-length handle.
These are the listing's build claims; owners seem to value the insulated interior because they say ice stays frozen and melts slowly. The listing also specifies the refrigerant (R134a) and the electrical requirement (110 volts), plus the unit weight and external dimensions — useful for planning a built-in install.
What the listing does not specify: finish-grade details (for example, whether specific parts are brushed vs. polished), and the exact gauge or composition of the stainless steel. If those finer material details matter to you, the listing suggests confirming current manufacturer documentation before purchase.
Safety considerations
The listing calls out ETL certification in the product bullets, which is a positive safety signal for electrical compliance. Still, buyers should verify the current listing or manufacturer documentation for the latest certification statements.
- Door & handle: The unit has a full-length handle and a reversible door; because one owner reported ice overflowing and forcing the door open during a control failure, make sure the door seals and hinges are secure at installation.
- Clearing and ventilation: The listing recommends 50 mm (about 2 inches) of clearance on the sides and top for proper installation — follow that guidance so the unit can ventilate and not overheat.
- Electrical: The listing specifies 110 volts; confirm your outlet and circuit match the requirement and that you have appropriate grounding. The listing does not specify cord length or plug type—check the manufacturer documentation on the current listing.
- Maintenance: The listing recommends manual defrost every 4–6 weeks. Because the unit keeps ice in an internal freezing compartment ("no drain required"), you must manually defrost and clean the compartment as part of maintenance.
Owners' feedback does include a reliability-related safety-adjacent incident (continuous ice production that forced the door open). That incident was handled through customer service and replacement. Still, it’s worth keeping the owner's experience in mind: retain proof of purchase and familiarize yourself with VEVOR's service process in case you need support.
Who this is for / who should skip
Match the IMC25 to your needs by considering the listed specs, the reported owner experiences, and the available variants.
Best fit
- Home cooks and hosts who want a dedicated undercounter ice source that can produce up to 25 lb/day and store roughly 22 lb of ice.
- Those who want crescent-shaped ice — the listing includes a crescent-ice variant (and other variants like cube and nugget listed in the product options).
- Small kitchens, wet bars and built-in installations where a compact footprint (about 15" wide and less than 29" tall) and a stainless finish are desirable.
- Buyers who value one-button operation and a unit that owners report as generally quiet and efficient at preserving ice compared with smaller cube-only machines.
- People who need a freestanding machine that doesn’t require a drain, or who want to put an ice maker into less conventional spots like an RV or patio — the listing states freestanding and RV/boat use are possible.
Who should skip
- If you require a self-draining automatic drain system, consider a variant listed with a drain — this model is explicitly marketed as "no drain required."
- If you need certified low-noise metrics that are guaranteed by spec rather than owner impressions, the listing doesn’t include a decibel rating; the quietness claim is based on owner feedback.
- If you need long-term, trouble-free commercial-grade 24/7 operation without service-plan considerations, note this is a home/consumer product listed with commercial-home positioning and some owners reported a late hardware/control issue; plan for access to service and a replacement route if you intend heavy continuous use.
Verdict
The VEVOR IMC25 is a compact, stainless undercounter ice maker with a clear set of listing specs: 25 lb/day output, 22 lb internal storage, crescent cubes sized 0.47 x 0.79 x 2.36 inch and a reversible stainless-steel door. Owners consistently praise its ice output, the quality of the crescent ice and the quiet operation when compared to other cube-only machines. The listing's triple-layer insulation claim is reflected in the way buyers say the ice melts more slowly than the cube styles they replaced.
On the flip side, the owner feedback contains at least one significant reliability incident: a unit that began making ice continuously after about six months and forced the door open until the manufacturer arranged a replacement. That experience tempers the otherwise positive owner signal: the machine appears to perform well for many households, but be prepared to manage warranty/service if something goes wrong.
Check before you buy (quick checklist)
- Measure your cabinet opening and confirm the unit's dimensions (17.13" D x 14.96" W x 28.74" H) and 50 mm (approx. 2") clearance at sides and top for ventilation.
- Confirm your electrical supply matches the listed 110 volts and check the plug/cable details on the current listing or manual.
- Decide whether you need a drain option — this variant is listed as "no drain required" and stores ice in an internal freezing compartment; drain variants are listed separately.
- Confirm the ice shape you want: this model is listed as producing crescent ice; alternate ice types (cube, nugget) are listed as separate options.
- Verify the current manufacturer documentation for ETL certification and warranty/service details so you know how to reach support if needed.
Colors (from product images and finish):
- stainless steel
FAQ
-
How much ice does this make and how big are the pieces?
The listing states the IMC25 produces up to 25 pounds of ice per 24 hours and makes crescent-shaped ice sized 0.47 x 0.79 x 2.36 inches using a 12-cube aluminum tray. It also notes ice can be ready in as fast as 20 minutes.
-
Do I need a drain or plumbing for this model?
The listing specifically describes this model as having an interior freezing compartment and "no drain required." If you prefer a drained model, the listing shows alternate versions labeled with drain options.
-
Can I install this under a counter and what clearance is required?
The product supports undercounter, freestanding or built-in installation and the listing recommends 50 mm of clearance on the sides and top for proper installation. The listed external dimensions are 17.13" D x 14.96" W x 28.74" H — verify these against your cabinet opening before buying.
-
How often does it need defrosting or maintenance?
The listing recommends manual defrosting every 4–6 weeks for efficient use and notes that an ice scoop, installation kit and user manual are included. Owners also report routine manual cleaning/defrosting as part of normal maintenance.
-
Is this safe electrically and certified?
The product bullets list ETL certification. The listing also specifies 110 volts and refrigerant R134a. As with any appliance, confirm the current listing/manufacturer documentation for certification and electrical details before installation.
-
How reliable is it long-term? Any common failures?
Most owners praise steady ice production and quiet operation. However, at least one owner reported a control failure after about six months where the machine continued making ice even with a full bin; that owner ultimately received a replacement unit from VEVOR after working with service. The pattern is broadly positive but not without at least one notable service incident.
-
Will the listing fit in an RV or outdoor patio?
The product page lists RVs and boats and even patio use among possible installation locations, and it emphasizes the unit has no drain requirement. If you plan to install outdoors or in a mobile setting, confirm environmental and power requirements on the current manufacturer documentation first.
Frequently asked questions
How much ice does this make and how large are the cubes?
The listing states the IMC25 makes up to 25 pounds of ice per day and stores up to 22 pounds; the crescent ice pieces are listed at 0.47 x 0.79 x 2.36 inches and the tray is a 12-cube aluminum tray.
Does this model require a drain or plumbing?
The IMC25 is listed as a "no drain required" model with an internal freezing compartment; the listing also shows alternate variants that include drain options if you need a draining model.
What are the unit dimensions and clearance requirements for a built-in install?
The listing gives external dimensions of 17.13" D x 14.96" W x 28.74" H and recommends 50 mm of clearance at the sides and top for proper installation—measure your cabinet space against these numbers before buying.
How often does it need defrosting or maintenance?
The listing recommends manual defrosting every 4–6 weeks for efficient use. The product also ships with an installation kit, user manual and an ice scoop.
Is this unit certified and what electrical requirements does it have?
The product bullets list ETL certification. The listing specifies a voltage of 110 volts and refrigerant R134a; verify the current listing/manufacturer documentation for certificates and installation details.
Are there any common reliability issues I should know about?
Owner feedback is mostly positive about output and quiet operation, but at least one owner reported a control problem after about six months where the machine kept making ice even with a full bin; that owner worked with VEVOR service and received a replacement unit.
Think it’s right for your kitchen?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.