TACOOL

TACOOL 2.2 cu ft Chest Freezer Review

2.2 Cu Ft Freezer Chest Freezer Suit for Singel Removable Basket Traditional Manual Temperature Control for Bedroom, Dorm, Apartment

97.5 Dude Score

Intro

If you need extra frozen storage but don’t have space for a full-size freezer, this TACOOL 2.2 cubic-foot chest freezer is positioned as a compact, budget-minded option. The listing pitches it for bedrooms, dorms, apartments and small kitchens and highlights a handful of features that matter for daily use: a top-opening lid, two removable baskets for organization, a 7-gear manual temperature control with a -11.2F to 50F range, quiet operation under 40 dB and low energy draw at 0.47 kWh per 24 hours. Owners who’ve bought it repeatedly point to the size being a strong fit for one person or a small household, while a minority note a missing part that required manufacturer follow-up. Below is a practical look at what the listing shows, how owners report it performs in real life, and what to check before you buy.

What it is / first look

The TACOOL model is a freestanding chest freezer with a top-opening lid (door orientation: top) and a listed capacity of 2.2 cubic feet. Its stated exterior footprint is compact: 15" deep, 17.3" wide and 29.6" high. The listing identifies the door material type as PP and the unit runs on 110 volts. The package includes at least one basket (listed as an included component) and the feature bullets describe two removable storage baskets for organizing small items.

Key specs from the listing

  • Capacity: 2.2 cubic feet
  • Item dimensions (D x W x H): 15" x 17.3" x 29.6"
  • Door orientation: Top
  • Door material type: PP
  • Voltage: 110 volts
  • Temperature range: adjustable from -11.2F to 50F with 7 gears
  • Noise level: listed as below 40 dB
  • Energy consumption: 0.47 kWh per 24 hours
  • Installation type: Freestanding
  • Included components: Basket (listing also describes two removable baskets)
  • Warranty: One-year warranty (listed)

Available colors

  • Black
  • White

The listing shows at least two colorways (Black and White). Image filenames suggest multiple product shots, and the color options above are those explicitly listed.

In daily use

Owners repeatedly say the size is just right for a single person or a small apartment, and the listing explicitly positions the unit for those spaces (bedroom, dorm, apartment, office, garage). The combination of compact exterior dimensions and a 2.2 cu ft interior makes this model primarily useful as supplemental frozen storage rather than a household primary freezer.

Organization and storage

The listing specifies two removable storage baskets to keep small items organized and accessible; it also lists "Basket" under included components. That configuration suits frequent access to smaller items (ice packs, frozen meals, packaged vegetables, ice cream containers) while leaving the main compartment available for larger items. Because the baskets are removable, owners can reconfigure the interior space when they need to stow bulkier packages.

Temperature control and performance

The freezer uses a manual temperature control with seven gears and a listed adjustable range from -11.2F to 50F. That range gives you the ability to dial in colder or milder settings depending on contents and ambient temperature. Owners should note that the listing describes it as a "traditional manual temperature control" — this is not an electronic or Wi-Fi-connected control panel. For most everyday frozen foods, manual adjustment in that range should be sufficient; if you require precision or remote monitoring, the listing does not claim smart controls.

Noise and energy

The manufacturer lists the unit as operating below 40 dB, which the listing frames as quiet operation suitable for living spaces (bedrooms and dorms are specifically mentioned). The listing also gives a concrete energy-consumption figure: 0.47 kWh per 24 hours. Buyers who prioritize low background noise or low energy draw should find those listing figures helpful when comparing compact freezers.

Installation and footprint

Because this is a freestanding chest freezer, you won’t need built-in cabinetry or a special recess for installation; the listing marks the installation type as "Freestanding." The compact exterior dimensions (15" x 17.3" x 29.6") make it a candidate for tight spots — under a counter, in a dorm room, or in a narrow laundry closet — but verify clearance for a top-opening lid and any required ventilation around the unit (the listing does not specify recommended clearances). The listing indicates 110 volts operation; ensure your intended location provides standard household power of that type.

Owners' on-the-ground notes

  • Size fit: Multiple buyers report the capacity is "perfect" for one person and praise the compact footprint for small apartments and dorms.
  • Missing part: At least one owner reported receiving a unit with a missing part and was waiting for a manufacturer-supplied replacement — a sign to check packaging and included parts at delivery.

Those owner themes are consistent with the listing's positioning: compact and practical, but make sure everything arrives complete.

Use-case H3s

Small apartments & dorms

Listing copy and owner feedback both emphasize this use: the small footprint and quiet operation (below 40 dB) are cited as helpful when placing a freezer in living areas. The top-opening lid and removable baskets address frequent-access needs for single-person households.

Garages, offices, and seasonal overflow

The listing mentions garages and offices as suitable locations. For these use cases, the unit's freestanding design and low daily energy figure are advantages. The manual temperature control gives flexibility for seasonal storage, but the listing doesn't specify recommended ambient temperature range for reliable operation in very cold garages or unheated spaces — the listing is silent on that point.

Not for primary or large-family use

With 2.2 cu ft of capacity, this is a supplemental freezer. The listing frames it as ideal for single users and small spaces; if you need to store bulk meat, extended family food prep or large holiday loads, the capacity will be limiting.

Materials & build quality

The listing lists the door material type as PP (polypropylene). Beyond that explicit callout, the listing does not detail the interior liner materials, insulation R-value, gasket composition, hinge design, or compressor type. The "about" copy states the brand has a manufacturing plant intended to "ensure the quality of the machine," but that is a manufacturer-provided statement rather than a third-party verification of materials or construction.

What the listing actually states

  • Door material type: PP (listed)
  • Included components: Basket (and bullets describe two removable storage baskets)
  • Freestanding installation and top-opening door orientation (listed)
  • One-year warranty (listed)
  • Model number and color options are listed (Model 51-Black; Black and White available)

Those are the verifiable build details provided. The listing does not enumerate the full material stack (for instance, it does not say what the interior liner is made from, whether parts in contact with food are described as a specific food-safe material, or whether components like hinges and handles are metal or plastic). When material or food-contact claims matter to you, verify the current listing or manufacturer documentation for specifics because they are not spelled out in the listing.

Fit, finish and packaging

Owner feedback is limited but consistent on fit for small spaces. The only durability/packaging-related owner note in the internal research says one buyer received the unit missing a part and awaited a replacement from the manufacturer. That isolated report signals a packaging or shipping quality-control issue in at least one case; it doesn’t by itself prove systemic build-quality failure, but it’s a red flag to inspect the unit and accessories at delivery.

Safety considerations

Safety is a key editorial lens for kitchen equipment. Below are listing-backed safety-relevant facts and practical cautions derived from those facts and owner reports.

Explicit safety-related facts in the listing

  • Voltage: 110 volts (listed) — plug into standard household power as appropriate.
  • Noise level: listed as under 40 dB — useful for living spaces, but double-check placement if you want near-silent operation.
  • Door material: listed as PP (polypropylene) — the listing does not assert certifications or food-contact approvals for this material in the product copy.
  • Warranty: One-year warranty is listed.

What the listing does not say (and why that matters)

  • The listing does not list third-party safety or food-contact certifications (for example, independent NSF/FDA/UL mentions are absent). If certifications matter for your use case, verify current manufacturer documentation.
  • The listing does not specify interior liner materials or gasket composition; if you need verified food-contact material claims, the listing is silent on those specific claims.
  • The listing does not specify recommended clearances or an ambient operating temperature range for extreme environments (e.g., very cold garages or hot unconditioned spaces).

Practical safety notes and delivery checks

  • Inspect the unit at delivery and confirm the included baskets and any other parts are present — one owner reported a missing part and required manufacturer follow-up.
  • Make sure the top-opening lid has clearance for full opening where you plan to install the unit — the listing gives exterior dimensions but does not specify hinge swing clearance.
  • Verify the outlet and cord meet your local electrical norms; the listing states 110 volts operation.
  • Because the listing does not enumerate third-party safety certifications or food-surface approvals, confirm the current listing/manufacturer documentation if you need certified food-contact materials.

Who this is for / who should skip

The listing and buyer feedback make the intended audience clear: this TACOOL chest freezer is aimed at single people, students, and anyone who needs a compact, quiet supplemental freezer for small spaces.

Good fit

  • Singles and couples with modest frozen-storage needs — owners describe the capacity as a good fit for one person.
  • Small apartments, dorm rooms, or offices where footprint and noise level matter (listing advertises below 40 dB operation).
  • People who need a freestanding, top-opening unit with basic manual temperature control and removable baskets for organization.

Who should skip or consider alternatives

  • Large families or anyone who needs substantial frozen storage — 2.2 cu ft is supplemental capacity.
  • Buyers who require precision temperature management, smart features, or remote monitoring — the listing specifies a traditional manual temperature control with 7 gears rather than electronic controls or Wi-Fi.
  • Users who must have third-party certifications or documented food-contact material approvals — the listing does not supply those certifications in the product copy.

Verdict

The TACOOL 2.2 cu ft chest freezer is a compact, straightforward option for anyone needing supplemental frozen storage in constrained spaces. The listing gives solid, practical specs for that use: a small footprint (15" x 17.3" x 29.6"), a usable 2.2 cu ft capacity, two removable baskets for organization, manual temperature control spanning -11.2F to 50F, quiet operation under 40 dB and a low daily energy figure of 0.47 kWh per 24 hours. Owner feedback reinforces the listing’s positioning — multiple buyers say the size is perfect for singles and small apartments. The lone notable owner concern in the internal notes is a missing part that required manufacturer support; inspect parts on delivery.

Check before you buy (quick checklist)

  • Confirm the exterior dimensions (15" D x 17.3" W x 29.6" H) fit your intended location and allow lid clearance.
  • Verify you have standard 110-volt power at the installation site.
  • Inspect the box on arrival and confirm included components (listing describes two removable baskets and lists "Basket" under included components).
  • Make sure the stated temperature range (-11.2F to 50F) and manual 7-gear control meet your freezing needs.
  • Check the one-year warranty details and manufacturer contact process for replacement parts; owners have reported needing a missing part replaced.
  • If food-contact material certifications or third-party safety approvals are required for your use, verify those details with the current listing or manufacturer documentation — the listing does not list third-party certifications.

Overall, if you want a compact, no-frills chest freezer for a small space and value quiet, low-energy operation, the listing’s specs plus owner feedback make this a reasonable candidate. If you need large capacity, precision temperature control, or documented certifications for food-contact materials, the listing does not promise those features and you should consider alternatives or verify with the manufacturer.

Frequently asked questions

What is the freezer's capacity?

The listing states a capacity of 2.2 cubic feet.

What are the exterior dimensions and door orientation?

The listed item dimensions are 15" deep x 17.3" wide x 29.6" high, and the unit has a top-opening (chest) door orientation.

Does it include baskets for organization?

The listing lists "Basket" among included components and the feature bullets describe two removable storage baskets to help keep small items organized.

What temperature range and controls does it have?

The freezer has a manual 7-gear temperature control with an adjustable range listed from -11.2F to 50F.

How noisy and energy-efficient is it?

The listing claims the unit operates below 40 dB and consumes 0.47 kWh per 24 hours.

What warranty does it come with?

The listing specifies a one-year warranty.

Is it suitable for a small apartment or dorm?

Yes—the listing specifically mentions bedrooms, dorms and apartments as suitable locations, and owners report the size is a good fit for one person.

Is the door or interior made of food-safe material?

The listing identifies the door material type as PP, but it does not list third-party food-contact certifications or provide detailed interior material specs; verify the current listing or manufacturer documentation for food-contact material claims.

Think it’s right for your kitchen?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.