LifePlus

LifePlus 4.2 cu ft Chest Freezer Review

Chest Freezer 4.2 Cubic Feet with Removable Storage Basket, Deep Freezer 7 Adjustable Temperature, Energy Saving, Super Quiet for Garage, Office, Kitchen, or Apartment

95.5 Dude Score

intro

If you need extra frozen storage without sacrificing floor space, the LifePlus 4.2 cubic foot chest freezer positions itself as a compact, quiet, and energy-conscious option. The listing emphasizes a Dynamic Cooling System, 7-step adjustable temperature control, and a low daily energy draw; owners consistently praise the quiet operation and compact footprint. But owner feedback also flags shipping damage, a few premature failures, and mixed impressions about perceived build quality. Below I lay out what the unit actually is, how it performs in daily use, what the manufacturer and listing claim about materials, safety signals to watch for, and who should consider buying — plus a straight-ahead checklist to run through before you commit.

What it is / first look

The LifePlus model BD-108LGY is a freestanding chest freezer with 4.2 cubic feet of usable capacity. The listing specifies top (lid) door orientation and a stainless steel door material. It’s a relatively light chest freezer at 52 pounds, with item dimensions of 21" deep x 21" wide x 31.5" high. The unit runs on 110 volts, draws 85 watts when active, and the listing states a minimum consumption of 0.52 kWh per 24 hours.

Important feature calls from the listing:

  • 7-grade adjustable temperature control, with listed range from -11.4°F to 10.2°F.
  • Dynamic Cooling System described as a D-shaped cooling circuit to reduce frost and keep food drier.
  • Water drain for defrosting to keep the interior dry.
  • Two pulleys/wheels at the bottom to make the unit easier to move.
  • Specification met: ETL.
  • Warranty description: 12 months.

Visuals and the image file names suggest the model is offered in multiple finishes; available colors listed are Gray, Black, Gray 1, White1 and white. The listing also notes a stain-resistant interior material, though the listing does not name that interior material explicitly.

In daily use

Owners who like this freezer repeatedly mention three things: it’s quiet, compact, and it keeps a stable cold temperature for typical frozen goods.

Noise & compressor cycling

The listing claims the unit runs at no louder than 40 dB and that the compressor runs only several times a day due to efficient refrigeration and insulation. Owner feedback echoes this: multiple buyers report very quiet operation, with at least one owner measuring the sound level at roughly 40 dB. If you need a freezer that won’t disturb a living room, studio, or office, this repeated owner signal supports the listing’s quiet claim.

Temperature control & performance

The unit’s 7-grade temperature control allows selection across settings the listing ties to use cases; for example, levels 1–2 for chilled beverage/fruit storage and levels 3–7 for full freezer use. The listed temperature range is -11.4°F to 10.2°F, and owners report the freezer holding a steady 0°F on normal settings. That pattern — the listing’s temperature specs and owners reporting stable cold storage — is a good sign that the thermostat and compressor do their job for everyday frozen food.

Storage capacity & organization

At 4.2 cubic feet the unit sits in the compact chest/freezer class. Owners describe it as “a great little freezer” and “perfect for small studios or one-bedroom apartments.” The listing notes one shelf (Number Of Shelves: 1) and a removable storage basket (title includes removable storage basket), which helps in organizing smaller items at the top. Expect to stack bulkier items below the basket; the chest layout favors frozen bags, pizza boxes, and individual meals over large walk-in-style bulk storage.

Mobility & installation

The freezer is freestanding and listed as having pulleys—two wheels at the bottom—so many owners find it easy to slide into place even when partly loaded. Note that one owner mentions the electrical cord exits on the same side as the vent; that’s not a listing-wide caution, but it’s a useful practical point to check in your planned location so the cord and ventilation aren’t blocked.

Materials & build quality

Here are the listing facts and owner-sourced patterns tied to build quality:

  • Door material: The listing specifies the door material type as stainless steel.
  • Interior material: The listing describes the interior as stain-resistant and able to lock air cooling; the listing does not specify exact interior materials or coatings.
  • Weight & footprint: At 52 pounds and 21" x 21" x 31.5", the unit is relatively light for a chest freezer, which is part of why owners find it easy to move.
  • Certifications: The listing states the specification met is ETL.
  • Wiring / electrical: The listing gives voltage (110 volts) and wattage (85 watts).

Owner feedback on build quality is mixed. Positive threads: many buyers call it a well-sized, efficient chest that performs as advertised and appreciate the quiet operation and the gray finish. Critical threads: several buyers report cosmetic damage on arrival — dents or indentations — and at least one buyer described the feel of the unit as cheap compared with higher-end brand options. One buyer reported a failure after roughly 3.5 months; however, that buyer reported the seller replaced the unit quickly and without fuss.

Those two patterns — solid performance in operation but inconsistent cosmetic packaging and occasional early failures reported by a minority — point to decent functional components with variable quality control or shipping handling. The built-in pulleys and relatively light weight are practical pluses for small-space kitchens, garages, or RV use.

Safety considerations

Kitchen safety first. Here are the concrete safety-relevant facts and signals from the listing and owner feedback.

  • ETL listing: The listing lists "Specification Met: ETL," which is the clearest safety-related spec provided.
  • Electrical specs: The unit is listed for 110 volts and 85 watts — verify that matches the outlet you plan to use. The listing does not specify a grounded plug type or cord length; the listing is also silent on GFCI recommendations for garage or outdoor-adjacent use.
  • Shipping damage reports: Several owners report dents or indentations on arrival. Shipping damage is a handling and possibly structural concern; inspect the unit for locked hinges, lid alignment, and any visible cracks in the housing when delivery occurs. If the box shows evidence of rough handling, photograph it and contact the seller right away as owners who reported damage received seller assistance in some cases.
  • Premature failure reports: At least one owner reported the freezer stopped cooling after about 3.5 months; that buyer reported a successful replacement from the seller. This is an owner-reported durability event worth noting because it affects food-loss risk if you rely on the unit for bulk storage without monitoring.
  • Defrost & drainage: The listing states a water drain to clear defrost water — that’s useful for safe defrosting and preventing unwanted water pooling inside the chest.

Overall: the ETL listing and drain are helpful safety features. The practical safety warnings from owner feedback are mainly about checking the unit at delivery and being aware of a small number of early failures. Follow the manufacturer's installation instructions and the seller’s return and warranty steps if you see damage or performance issues.

Who this is for / who should skip

“Who this fits” depends on space, storage needs, and tolerance for the mix of value and QC variability reported by owners.

Best fit: small apartments, studios, and single cooks

Owners repeatedly describe this as "perfect for small studio or one-bedroom apts" and praise the compact footprint (21" wide) and quiet operation. If you need a small, tucked-away freezer for pizzas, bags of vegetables, and prepared meals, this model is a good fit.

Best fit: garage, RV, or office where quiet and compact size matter

The listing and owner comments both call out suitability for garages, basements, RVs, and office spaces. The pulleys and 52 lb weight make it portable for those locations, but confirm you have a sheltered spot and that the unit stays dry (the listing does not detail outdoor weather-proofing). The listing specifically mentions use in garages and RV areas.

Who should skip

  • If you need large or commercial-level capacity — skip this; 4.2 cu ft is modest.
  • If you need top-tier, long-term reliability without any risk of early replacement — several owners report cosmetic shipping damage and a small number report early failure, so choose a more established premium brand if you can’t accept that risk.
  • If cosmetic finish out of the box matters to you — some units have arrived with dents; buyers wanting pristine looks may prefer sturdier packaging or in-store pickup alternatives.

Verdict

The LifePlus 4.2 cu ft chest freezer is an attractive value play for people who want a quiet, compact extra freezer with energy-saving claims and a low daily power draw. The listing provides useful specs: a 7-step temperature control covering roughly -11.4°F to 10.2°F, ETL listing, a drain for defrosting, pulleys for mobility, and a stainless steel door. Owners consistently praise quiet operation and the fit for small living spaces, garages, and offices.

On the other hand, repeated owner reports of dents and a few premature failures mean this model is best viewed as a budget- to mid-range option: it performs well for many users, but you should verify arrival condition, test cooling quickly, and be ready to use the seller warranty window if needed. If you require a freezer with proven long-term reliability or need a professional kitchen-grade unit, consider stepping up to a more premium brand with longer documented service history.

Check before you buy (quick checklist)

  • Verify dimensions (21"D x 21"W x 31.5"H) and weight (52 lb) fit the intended spot, and ensure adequate clearance for ventilation and the power cord orientation (owners note the cord can exit on the same side as the vent).
  • Confirm your outlet is 110 volts and suitable for the unit; the listing gives wattage as 85 W.
  • Inspect the unit on delivery for shipping dents or indentations; photograph any damage and contact the seller promptly if present (several owners did this and received assistance).
  • Check that the lid opens/closes cleanly and the drain is accessible for defrosting.
  • Ask the seller/manufacturer to confirm current warranty terms and the process for replacement or repair — the listing cites a 12-month warranty.
  • Remember the listing claims the unit is ETL-listed; verify the current listing/manufacturer documentation if ETL certification is a deciding factor for you.
  • If quiet operation is important, note the listing’s claim the unit won’t exceed 40 dB and owner measurements align with that claim.

Bottom line: the LifePlus 4.2 cu ft chest freezer is a strong contender if you want compact frozen storage, quiet operation, and energy-conscious running costs — just be prepared to inspect arrival condition and lean on the seller warranty if you encounter shipping damage or early failures.

FAQ

  • Q: Does this freezer work on standard household current?
    A: The listing specifies the unit uses 110 volts and lists wattage as 85 watts, so it’s intended for standard household circuits that match those specs.
  • Q: How cold does this freezer go?
    A: The listing shows a 7-grade adjustable temperature control with a listed temperature range from -11.4°F to 10.2°F. The listing also suggests settings 1–2 for chilled items and 3–7 for freezer use; owners report steady freezer temperatures on typical settings.
  • Q: Is it quiet enough to keep in a living area or office?
    A: The listing claims the freezer will not be louder than 40 dB while running. Multiple owners report very quiet operation and at least one owner measured about 40 dB, matching the listing claim.
  • Q: Does the unit have wheels or make it easy to move?
    A: The listing describes two pulleys (wheels) at the bottom to help slide the freezer even when its interior is full, and owners commonly note that mobility as a practical advantage.
  • Q: What should I check when the freezer arrives?
    A: Owners report occasional dents or indentations on arrival, so check external panels, lid alignment, and the interior for damage. Photograph any issues and contact the seller promptly; some owners received timely seller support for damaged units.
  • Q: Is this unit certified to safety standards?
    A: The listing indicates "Specification Met: ETL." If certification details are crucial for your installation, verify the current manufacturer documents or listing to confirm certification status.
  • Q: How big is the freezer and how much does it weigh?
    A: Item dimensions are listed as 21" deep x 21" wide x 31.5" high, with an item weight of 52 pounds and a listed capacity of 4.2 cubic feet.

Frequently asked questions

Does this freezer work on standard household current?

The listing specifies the unit uses 110 volts and lists wattage as 85 watts, so it’s intended for standard household circuits that match those specs.

How cold does this freezer go?

The listing shows a 7-grade adjustable temperature control with a listed temperature range from -11.4°F to 10.2°F. The listing also suggests settings 1–2 for chilled items and 3–7 for freezer use; owners report steady freezer temperatures on typical settings.

Is it quiet enough to keep in a living area or office?

The listing claims the freezer will not be louder than 40 dB while running. Multiple owners report very quiet operation and at least one owner measured about 40 dB, matching the listing claim.

Does the unit have wheels or make it easy to move?

The listing describes two pulleys (wheels) at the bottom to help slide the freezer even when its interior is full, and owners commonly note that mobility as a practical advantage.

What should I check when the freezer arrives?

Owners report occasional dents or indentations on arrival, so check external panels, lid alignment, and the interior for damage. Photograph any issues and contact the seller promptly; some owners received timely seller support for damaged units.

Is this unit certified to safety standards?

The listing indicates "Specification Met: ETL." If certification details are crucial for your installation, verify the current manufacturer documents or listing to confirm certification status.

How big is the freezer and how much does it weigh?

Item dimensions are listed as 21" deep x 21" wide x 31.5" high, with an item weight of 52 pounds and a listed capacity of 4.2 cubic feet.

Think it’s right for your kitchen?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.