Koolatron

Kenmore Countertop Nugget Ice Maker review

Kenmore Countertop Ice Maker Nugget Machine – Portable Self-Cleaning Máquina de Hacer Hielo para Casa, Crunchy Chewable Pebble Ice, 40lb/24hr Capacity, Stainless Steel

84.6 Dude Score

Intro

This countertop nugget ice maker is marketed as a compact, front-load machine that produces chewable pebble ice fast. The listing names the product as a Kenmore Countertop Ice Maker Nugget Machine but the brand field is Koolatron and the manufacturer is listed as Koolatron China. The unit is sold as a plug-and-play appliance with touch controls, a self-clean feature, and several owner-reported benefits — plus a handful of consistent complaints that matter if you plan daily use.

What it is / first look

On paper the Kenmore/Koolatron nugget ice maker is a small, freestanding countertop device meant to deliver restaurant-style nugget or pebble ice without a water hookup. Key listing facts:

  • Brand listed as Koolatron; model number KKIMNF-40SS, manufacturer Koolatron China.
  • Item weight: 17.8 pounds; item dimensions: 12.68" D x 7.28" W x 12.83" H — a compact footprint designed for counter or under-cabinet storage.
  • Wattage: 110 watts; Voltage: 115 (requires a grounded plug as the listing indicates front-load use anywhere there is a grounded plug).
  • Refrigerant: R600a (listed in specifications).
  • Materials listed: Plastic and stainless steel finish.
  • Included components: ice maker, pull-out ice drawer, ice scoop, drip tray.
  • Listing features: makes first batch in about 6 minutes, one-touch self-cleaning, view-through ice drawer with LED interior light, touch LED controls, removable drip tray and top-rack dishwasher-safe scoop/drip tray.

Colors listed on the product page include Stainless Steel, Matt Black, Silver, and Black. The listing also includes a warranty claim: "2-year warranty & reliable support — Backed by Kenmore’s 2-year warranty," which appears in the seller copy.

In daily use

The listing emphasizes speed and an easy, countertop experience: fill the reservoir, press a button, and nugget ice arrives. Owners’ feedback shows a clear pattern of what to expect when the machine is working and where real-world friction shows up.

Ice quality and production

The machine is described as producing "crunchy, chewable nugget ice" and owners consistently praise the chewable texture, saying the pellets chill drinks without watering them down quickly. The listing gives two different production numbers in its copy: the specifications list "Ice Production per Day: 26 pounds," while other listing text and bullets sometimes say "capacity of up to 40 lbs of ice/day" and the specs field also lists "Capacity: 40 pounds." That discrepancy is in the listing. Owners commonly report fast cycles and short wait times — the listing says the first batch is ready in about six minutes — and several owners confirm quick batches and lots of ice for parties or daily use when the unit is functioning normally.

Noise and placement

Noise is a mixed signal across owner reports. Several owners use words like "quiet" or "super quiet" when the machine is running, while a smaller but notable group calls it "quite noisy" and keeps it out in a utility room. The unit’s compressor operation and short, frequent cycles can produce intermittent mechanical sound; expect some running noise and plan placement accordingly if you have an open-plan kitchen or need absolute quiet.

Water handling, melting, and scooping

The front-load pull-out drawer and a view-through panel with an LED interior light are meant to make monitoring and scooping easier. Owners report the included plastic scoop and removable drip tray are convenient and that both are listed as top-rack dishwasher safe. A few owners note small amounts of water can leak or pool at the front drip tray area — described as a minor nuisance that the tray generally catches — while others report having to move ice around in the bin so the machine keeps cycling (some machines show "ice full" if lumps block sensor activity and then melt back down if left untouched).

Reliability patterns

Most owners who leave positive feedback say the machine "works great" and cite long stretches of regular use. However, a visible minority report early failures or DOA units — some machines that "worked for a day then stopped." There is at least one owner report describing a quick, helpful replacement via Koolatron customer service, but another owner described logistical headaches and a restocking fee when returning a defective unit. That split pattern (many satisfied users, a smaller but real set of early failures and warranty interactions) is the strongest reliability signal available.

Materials & build quality

The listing lists the body materials as "Plastic, Stainless Steel" and shows a stainless finish variant. The product images and the material notes indicate a stainless steel exterior appearance paired with plastic components (including the ice scoop and internal parts). The drip tray and scoop are described in the listing as top-rack dishwasher safe.

Other concrete build facts from the listing:

  • Weight: 17.8 pounds — solidly portable compared with built-in appliances but heavy enough to feel substantial on a counter.
  • Dimensions: 12.68" D x 7.28" W x 12.83" H — compact height to fit under many low cabinets according to the seller copy.
  • Refrigerant type is listed as R600a.
  • The machine includes a pull-out ice drawer with a view-through window and LED interior light.

Quality observations drawn from owner themes:

  • When the unit is working, owners praise the ice texture and the compact, attractive finish — commonly described as a "nice little addition" for countertops and parties.
  • Several owners highlight the convenience of the self-clean cycle and the bottom drain that the listing advertises.
  • Build concerns raised by multiple owners include occasional front-side water leakage, intermittent noisy operation for some units, and complete failure in a subset of units shortly after arrival. These are repeated owner themes worth weighing against the many positive reports.

Safety considerations

Safety-related facts and owner signals to note before you buy:

  • Refrigerant: the spec sheet lists R600a. The listing includes that refrigerant type but does not provide certification or additional handling instructions in the product copy. Follow the manufacturer’s documentation for safe transport, installation, and disposal. If refrigerant handling is a concern, verify details on the current listing or the manufacturer materials before purchase.
  • Electrical specs: wattage 110 W and voltage 115 V are listed in the product specs. The listing also emphasizes that the front-load design needs a grounded plug. Use a properly grounded outlet and follow any manufacturer instructions included with the unit.
  • Shipping and orientation: an owner reported that the directions indicate the unit should not be laid on its side. That owner said their unit was shipped on its side and failed to make ice. This is an operational safety and reliability note: follow the packing and installation guidance in the manual and avoid placing the unit on its side during transport or installation if the manual warns against it.
  • Coatings and food-contact materials: the listing lists materials as plastic and stainless steel, and the scoop and drip tray are described as top-rack dishwasher safe. The listing does not state any specific food-contact certifications or material safety claims (for example, it does not specify "BPA-free" or "food-grade" in the provided specification copy). If you need explicit material safety assurances, verify the current listing/manufacturer documentation.
  • Leak reports: multiple owners mention small amounts of water pooling at the front drip tray. While most call it minor and manageable, repeated leakage can be a nuisance on counters and should be monitored.
  • Warranty and returns: the listing claims a 2-year warranty (described as Kenmore’s 2-year warranty in the product copy). Owner experiences with returns and replacement are mixed — a positive owner report describes a quick replacement shipment, while another mentions trouble and a restocking fee after returning a broken unit. Confirm the warranty terms and the seller’s return policy when you buy.

Who this is for / who should skip

Match the machine to your kitchen and use case based on listing facts and owner patterns.

Small kitchens, apartments, and under-cabinet spaces

With dimensions of 12.68" D x 7.28" W x 12.83" H and a front-load design that the listing markets as suitable for storing below cabinets, this unit is targeted at small kitchens and apartments where a full-size ice maker isn’t possible. Owners who live in apartments or small homes praise the compact footprint and chewable ice texture.

Home bars, parties, and frequent entertaining

The listing claims fast cycles (first batch in ~6 minutes) and an ability to produce many pounds of ice; owners who use the unit for parties and cocktails report plenty of ice when their machine is working. Keep in mind the listing contains inconsistent production numbers (see FAQ) — verify your expected daily output against your needs before relying on it for very large gatherings.

RVs, camping, and medical cooling

The compact, plug-in design and light weight (~17.8 lb) are appealing for RV users and camping with shore power. One owner specifically bought the unit for a medical cooling pad and reports it worked well for continuous ice supply. If you plan to move and store the unit frequently, follow the manual on orientation and transport; multiple owner reports show DOA and early-failure risk that can be exacerbated by improper shipping/handling.

Who should skip

  • If you need very large, solid ice cubes that melt slowly for large-format drinks: nugget/pebble ice is airy and chewable and may melt faster than dense cubes.
  • If you require strict, certified material safety documentation beyond the listed materials (stainless steel and plastic): the listing doesn’t provide specific food-contact certifications in the supplied copy, so verify the manufacturer documentation.
  • If you are highly averse to the risk of early unit failure: owner feedback shows a small but real rate of early DOA or stopped-working units and mixed return experiences.

Verdict

The Kenmore-branded listing for this Koolatron-made countertop nugget ice maker sells a compact, attractive appliance that makes restaurant-style chewable pebble ice quickly and with little setup. Owners who receive a working unit consistently praise the ice texture, compact footprint, and convenience features (self-cleaning, LED drawer light, removable scoop and drip tray). However, a clear minority of buyers report DOA or early failures and occasional water leakage and noise. The listing also contains inconsistent production numbers that are important to confirm if daily output matters to you.

Check before you buy

  • Measure your space: the unit is 12.68" D x 7.28" W x 12.83" H — confirm it fits under cabinets or on your counter.
  • Confirm production numbers: the specs list "Ice Production per Day: 26 pounds" but other listing copy references up to 40 lb/day. Verify current production figures on the listing/manufacturer materials.
  • Ask about warranty and returns: the listing claims a 2-year warranty; confirm who handles service and what the return policy and any restocking fees are.
  • Plan for noise and drainage: owners give mixed feedback on noise; the drip tray catches minor leaks but monitor placement to protect cabinetry and counters.
  • Follow shipping & install guidance: don’t lay the unit on its side in transit if the manual warns against it. The listing emphasizes plug-and-play operation with a grounded plug — use a properly grounded outlet.
  • Check the color you want: available colors listed include Stainless Steel, Matt Black, Silver, and Black.

Bottom line: If you want fast, chewable nugget ice in a small footprint and accept a modest risk of early failure, this unit is a budget-friendly way to get the texture many owners love. If you need rock-solid reliability with zero chance of early DOA issues, consider researching additional models or verifying replacement processes and return protections before buying.

Frequently asked questions

How much ice does this machine make in a day?

The listing has conflicting production numbers: the specifications list "Ice Production per Day: 26 pounds," while other listing copy and a capacity field reference 40 pounds. The listing is inconsistent; verify the current manufacturer/listing documentation for the figure you need.

How long until the first batch of ice is ready?

The listing states the machine produces the first serving of nugget/pebble ice in about 6 minutes.

Does this ice maker need a water hookup?

No. The listing describes a front-load design with no water hookup needed — you fill the reservoir manually and plug the unit into a grounded outlet.

What kind of ice does it make and can you change the size?

The listing advertises crunchy, chewable nugget/pebble ice and lists "versatile ice options." It also says the LED touchscreen controls let you select ice size and monitor status.

Will it fit under my cabinets?

The unit dimensions are 12.68" D x 7.28" W x 12.83" H and the listing highlights a compact front-load design intended to be stored below cabinets. Measure your clearance and compare to these dimensions to confirm fit.

Is the machine made of stainless steel and is the scoop dishwasher-safe?

The listing lists materials as Plastic and Stainless Steel and states the included plastic ice scoop and removable drip tray are top-rack dishwasher safe.

What warranty does it come with?

The product copy in the listing claims a 2-year warranty and support described as Kenmore’s 2-year warranty. Confirm warranty details with the seller/manufacturer at purchase.

Are there any common problems I should watch for?

Owner feedback repeatedly notes a small number of units arriving DOA or failing shortly after use, some reports of front-side water pooling caught by the drip tray, and mixed comments on noise level. Also follow the manual’s shipping and orientation instructions — an owner said the manual warns against laying the unit on its side.

Think it’s right for your kitchen?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.