Instant Pot

Instant Pot Vortex Plus 6QT ClearCook review

Instant Pot Vortex Plus 6QT ClearCook Air Fryer, Clear Windows, Custom Program Options, 6-in-1 Functions, Crisps, Broils, Roasts, Dehydrates, Bakes, Reheats, from the Makers of Instant Pot, Black

97.2 Dude Score

Intro

The Instant Pot Vortex Plus 6QT ClearCook is Instant Pot’s dedicated air fryer model marketed at cooks who want a single, countertop appliance to crisp, roast, bake, broil, dehydrate and reheat. The listing highlights EvenCrisp technology, a ClearCook viewing window, six customizable presets and a family‑sized 6‑quart capacity. Owner feedback collected across many buyers centers on how quickly it heats, how reliably it crisps foods, and how simple the controls are — but a handful of users also report a persistent plastic smell during use and some long‑term electrical failures. This review pulls the listing specs together with owner experience themes so you can decide whether the Vortex Plus fits your kitchen and cooking habits.

What it is / first look

At its core the Vortex Plus is a plug‑in countertop air fryer. The listing lists these headline specs: 6 quart (6 liters) capacity, 1700 watts output (120 V, 60 Hz), touch controls, a ClearCook viewing window, EvenCrisp air frying technology, and six cooking functions (air fry, roast, broil, bake, reheat, dehydrate). Instant Pot positions this as a family‑sized appliance that handles up to six portions and replaces multiple single‑purpose tasks like reheating and quick roasting.

The unit dimensions are 12.8" D x 11.8" W x 14.9" H and the item weight is 11.4 pounds, with outer material listed as plastic. Included components are the unit itself along with a cooking tray and basket. The listing lists product care as "Hand Wash" while the bullet features claim "dishwasher‑safe cooking baskets and trays" — a discrepancy worth noting below.

Physically the ClearCook window is a major selling point in the listing copy and is repeated in owner feedback as one reason people preferred this model: it lets you check browning and doneness without opening the basket. The listing also claims ETL certification and built‑in safety features like overheat protection and an automatic shutoff.

In daily use

Owners report consistent themes around speed, ease and crisping performance. Because these are lived experiences rather than lab tests, they’re presented here as reported outcomes from many buyers rather than verified measurements.

Heating speed & preheat

Owners frequently say the machine heats very quickly. One common report states a 400 °F preheat in roughly 2–3 minutes, which people contrast against standard ovens that can take much longer to reach the same temperature. The listing supports high heat operation with a maximum temperature of 400 °F and EvenCrisp technology intended to produce crispy textures with less oil.

Cooking performance (fries, wings, reheating)

A clear pattern in owner feedback is strong performance for fries, wings, reheating pizza and small roasted items. Several buyers describe fries that were crispy on the outside and tender inside, and reheated pizza or takeout that regained a near‑fresh texture. Users also highlight ease of roasting and broiling meats like chicken thighs, with a repeating comment that juices/drippings are captured below the grate so final food is crisp rather than greasy.

Because the Vortex Plus relies on a single tray/basket configuration, owners emphasize the importance of spacing food in a single layer for best results. Multiple buyers mention that the wider cooking surface of this purpose‑built air fryer is a step up from lid attachments that sit on top of pressure cookers.

Reheating and small batches

Reheating is repeatedly mentioned as one of the appliance’s most useful jobs: toast, pizza, leftovers and frozen snacks all get quick attention with minimal sogginess, according to buyer notes. If your household is two people or you're cooking single‑serve portions often, owners say the 6‑quart volume is handy and quick to run compared to heating a big oven.

Dehydrating and baking

The listing includes "dehydrate" and "bake" among the built‑in functions. Owner notes report success making small batches like beef jerky (jerky and pet treats), though a few owners say the air fryer made similar jerky to a convection oven but produced much less volume, so it's not ideal for large dehydration batches. Baking small items (muffins, small cakes) is possible but owners generally bought this model for crisping and quick roasting rather than as a full oven replacement.

Cleaning

Cleaning is highlighted as a plus by many owners; the listing claims the cooking baskets and trays are dishwasher‑safe and owners commonly say the coated basket cleans easily. However, the product care field in the listing also reads "Hand Wash," so there’s mixed messaging in the official listing. Buyers note that using liners for very messy jobs further eases cleanup.

Materials & build quality

The listing lists the outer material as plastic and notes the inner material as "Not Obtainable." That lack of detail about the interior surface material means buyers who care about exact cooking‑surface composition should verify the current listing or manufacturer documentation before purchase.

Despite the inner‑material gap in the listing, the owner signal on build quality leans positive. Many buyers describe the unit as well‑made and durable — several share that they’ve owned an earlier Vortex and replaced it only after many years, while others praise the feel of the tray and basket. A recurring owner comment is that the tray and grill are fairly heavy but manageable, which some users interpret as a sign of solid construction.

Because the listing omits inner material specifics, any claims about nonstick coatings or food‑contact certifications should be taken from the listing language only and verified with the manufacturer. The listing includes "EvenCrisp Technology" as a feature; that’s a marketing term that owners associate with good browning and crisping in practice.

Safety considerations

The listing makes explicit safety claims: ETL certification is stated in the product bullets, and the copy lists built‑in protections such as overheat protection and auto‑off. Those features and the ETL mention are positive safety indicators in the official product information.

Owner feedback provides additional safety‑relevant signals. Several buyers report a noticeable burning‑plastic smell when the unit is first used or while heating; one owner wrote that "they all do that" but others expressed concern. A small number of buyers reported a shorted unit or that the fryer stopped working after a period of ownership, including one account of a unit failing after a year. These are not universal reports, but they are repeated enough that they should be considered when assessing long‑term reliability and electrical safety.

Given the mix of official safety claims and owner notes, a prudent approach is to follow manufacturer setup and break‑in guidance, keep the unit well‑vented during first uses, and register the product with the manufacturer to ensure warranty support if you encounter problems. The listing includes "Warranty" in the specs but does not list a warranty length; the listing’s warranty description field simply reads "Warranty," so check the current manufacturer documentation for details before buying.

Who this is for / who should skip

Who this is for:

  • Two‑person households or small families who want fast crisping and reheating without firing up a large oven — owners repeatedly mention that the 6‑quart size is perfect for two to four portions and for cooking two steaks or a reasonable quantity of fries in a single layer.
  • People who value visibility during cooking — the ClearCook window and internal light are repeatedly cited by owners as useful for monitoring without releasing heat.
  • Cooks who want straightforward presets and touch controls — the listing highlights six customizable presets and users describe the interface as intuitive and simple.
  • Buyers who want a mid‑range countertop air fryer with strong crisping performance — the listing’s EvenCrisp tech, 1700W output and owner testimonials support good browning results.

Who should skip or pause before buying:

  • Shoppers who require explicit inner‑surface material details or third‑party food‑contact certifications. The listing lists the inner material as "Not Obtainable," so verify the current listing/manufacturer documentation if specific material claims matter to you.
  • Anyone who needs a large capacity appliance for batch dehydration or baking for big groups — owners note dehydration yields are small and you may need multiple runs for larger quantities.
  • Buyers who have single‑circuit or limited electrical setups: the unit draws 1700 watts at 120 V (listing), which is typical for higher‑power air fryers. Confirm your outlet/circuit capacity and follow manufacturer instructions for safe operation.

Verdict

The Instant Pot Vortex Plus 6QT ClearCook is a capable, clearly marketed air fryer that combines a roomy 6‑quart basket, fast preheating and a visible cooking window with the convenience of six cooking modes and customizable presets. The listing’s technical details (1700W, 120V, 95 °F min to 400 °F max temperature range, ETL certification, and overheat protection) and owner reports of reliable crisping and easy reheating make it an attractive option if you need a family‑sized air fryer for everyday use.

However, because the listing doesn’t disclose the inner material and because a minority of owners report a burning‑plastic smell and occasional electrical failures after months of use, prospective buyers should confirm warranty terms and manufacturer support before purchase and follow break‑in/first‑use instructions closely. The unit’s outer material is plastic and the total item weight is 11.4 pounds — practical for moving but not a featherweight counter appliance.

Check before you buy (quick checklist)

  • Confirm the inner‑surface material with the current listing or manufacturer documentation — the listing lists Inner Material as "Not Obtainable."
  • Verify the warranty length and registration steps — the listing shows "Warranty" but does not provide a specific warranty period.
  • Confirm product care instructions: the listing fields conflict (Product Care Instructions: "Hand Wash" vs bullet claim "Dishwasher‑safe cooking baskets and trays"). Decide if you want dishwasherable parts.
  • Make sure your counter has room for 12.8" D x 11.8" W x 14.9" H and that the 11.4 lb weight is manageable for moving or storage.
  • Note the electrical spec: 1700 watts, 120 V. Follow manufacturer guidance about circuit loading and placement (keep vents clear, avoid enclosed cabinets while operating).
  • If you care about visibility, the ClearCook window and light are a selling point — owners repeatedly call this feature useful for monitoring doneness without opening the basket.

Overall, the Vortex Plus is a strong choice for cooks who want a reliable, mid‑range air fryer with good crisping and reheating chops, plus the convenience of a viewing window and preset programs — but verify inner‑material details and warranty coverage if those concerns affect your purchase decision.

FAQ

  • Q: What cooking functions does the Instant Pot Vortex Plus 6QT ClearCook have?

    A: The listing lists six cooking functions: air fry, roast, broil, bake, reheat and dehydrate.

  • Q: How big is the capacity — will it fit family portions?

    A: The listing states a 6‑quart (6 liter) capacity and describes it as "family‑sized," handling up to six portions in the manufacturer's copy. Owners also report it fits two steaks or enough fries for two people in a single layer.

  • Q: Does it have a viewing window and interior light?

    A: Yes. The listing highlights the ClearCook window as a feature for monitoring your food without opening the basket; owners also praise the window and light for visibility.

  • Q: Are the baskets and trays dishwasher‑safe?

    A: The product bullets claim "dishwasher‑safe cooking baskets and trays," but the listing's Product Care Instructions field reads "Hand Wash." Given that difference, verify the current listing or manufacturer guidance if dishwasher safety is important to you.

  • Q: What are the electrical specs and max temperature?

    A: The listing specifies 1700 watts output at 120 volts (60 Hz) and a maximum temperature setting of 400 °F (minimum listed temperature setting is 95 °F).

  • Q: What is the inside cooking surface material — is it nonstick?

    A: The listing lists Inner Material as "Not Obtainable." The listing does not specify the interior surface material, so verify the current product listing or manufacturer documentation for details about coatings or food‑contact materials.

  • Q: How durable is the Vortex Plus over time?

    A: Owner feedback is mostly positive about durability — several owners report long service lives (one buyer noted an earlier Vortex lasting many years), while a minority report units that shorted out or stopped working after a year. The overall pattern suggests generally good durability with occasional failures; check warranty and return policies for peace of mind.

Colors (as listed)

  • Vortex Plus
  • Vortex
  • Slim
  • Dual Basket

Those color/variant names are the options the listing presents; actual availability may vary by retailer and region.

Frequently asked questions

What cooking functions does the Instant Pot Vortex Plus 6QT ClearCook have?

The listing lists six cooking functions: air fry, roast, broil, bake, reheat and dehydrate.

How big is the capacity — will it fit family portions?

The listing states a 6‑quart (6 liter) capacity and describes it as family‑sized, handling up to six portions. Owner notes also mention fitting two steaks or enough fries for two people in a single layer.

Does it have a viewing window and interior light?

Yes. The listing highlights the ClearCook window for checking food without opening the basket; owner feedback repeatedly praises the window and light for visibility.

Are the baskets and trays dishwasher‑safe?

The product bullets claim "dishwasher‑safe cooking baskets and trays," but the listing's Product Care Instructions field reads "Hand Wash." Verify the current listing or manufacturer guidance if dishwasher safety matters to you.

What are the electrical specs and max temperature?

The listing specifies 1700 watts output at 120 volts (60 Hz) and a maximum temperature of 400 °F (minimum listed temperature is 95 °F).

What is the inside cooking surface material — is it nonstick?

The listing lists Inner Material as "Not Obtainable." The listing does not specify the interior surface material; verify the current listing/manufacturer documentation for details.

How durable is this air fryer over time?

Owner feedback is mostly positive about durability with reports of long service life for many buyers, though a minority report units that stopped working after about a year. Because experiences vary, check the warranty and registration details before purchase.

Think it’s right for your kitchen?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.