Hawaiian Paradise Coffee

Hawaiian Paradise Hawaiian Roast (12oz) Review

Hawaiian Paradise Coffee 10% Hawaiian Roast Coffee Ground 12oz. Bag - Premium Rich Signature Brewed – 100% Arabica Gourmet Finest Beans

86.5 Dude Score

Intro

This review looks at Hawaiian Paradise Coffee’s Hawaiian Roast sold as a 12‑ounce ground bag. The listing positions it as a small‑batch, slow‑roasted blend made from 100% Premium Arabica beans grown “in the rich soil on the Big Island of Hawai'i and along the Pacific Coast.” Owners repeatedly describe it as a smooth, mellow cup that evokes a Hawaiian vacation; a smaller but vocal group says the flavor didn’t match expectations and some perceived added flavors. Below I walk through what the product is, how it behaves in everyday use according to owners, build/bean provenance details from the listing, safety considerations tied to food‑contact and flavor claims, and who should consider buying (or skipping) this bag.

What it is / first look

At face value this is a 12‑ounce bag of ground Hawaiian Roast from Hawaiian Paradise Coffee. The listing states the beans are 100% Premium Arabica and grown in Hawaii and along the Pacific Coast. The product is described as a blend of Hawaiian‑grown Arabica beans that are slow roasted in small batches to "lock in the natural sugars" and produce a smooth, rich cup with sweet undertones and a smooth finish. The manufacturer copy emphasizes the company’s scale in Hawaii and its focus on supplying hotels and restaurants across the islands.

Packaging and what's on the bag

The product is presented as a standard retail 12‑ounce bag (the listing lists the product as a 12 Ounce unit and package dimensions of 8.62 x 4.88 x 3.07 inches). The images associated with the listing use conventional product photography; the listing does not specify multiple colorways for the bag, so available colors may include the standard packaging shown in the product images.

How the listing frames the roast

Key listing language that matters to flavor expectations: the company calls this a "Hawaiian Roast" blended from Hawaiian‑grown Arabica, slow roasted to preserve natural sugars, and produced in small batches to evoke volcanic Hawaiian flavors with sweet undertones and a smooth finish. Those phrases appear in the manufacturer’s bullets and product description and are the primary promises buyers should evaluate against their own tasting expectations.

In daily use

The product is ground coffee in a 12‑ounce retail bag — owners treat it like a straight daily drinking coffee rather than a specialty brewing experiment. Because the product is sold ground (the title specifies "Ground 12oz. Bag"), it’s ready for standard at‑home brewing without grinding.

Morning routine and daily cups

Owner feedback shows a clear pattern: many buyers use it as a daily morning cup and appreciate its smooth, balanced profile. Comments point to a mellow, non‑bitter experience that fits a regular coffee routine and doesn’t leave an unpleasant aftertaste. Some owners say it became their daily favorite after discovering it on vacation in Hawaii and bringing a bag home.

Gifting and nostalgia

Another strong thread in owner notes is nostalgia and gifting. Several buyers report that the bag "arrived well received as a gift" and that the flavor reminded them (or their recipients) of Hawaiian coffee enjoyed on trips — that emotional connection is a practical selling point for anyone buying it as a present or souvenir substitute.

Flavor expectations vs. reality

This is where owner reports diverge. The listing frames the product as smooth, sweet‑undertoned Arabica. Many owners confirm that experience, praising balance and aroma. However, a minority of buyers report an unexpected flavored note in the coffee — descriptions in owner feedback include references to a vanilla or hazelnut‑like taste or calling it “stinky flavored coffee.” A few buyers explicitly said the coffee tasted flavored in a way they did not expect or want, and one buyer wrote that they would not order again for that reason. Others felt the bag did not deliver strong flavor intensity relative to the price.

Practical fit in different kitchens and routines

Because this is ground coffee sold in a 12‑ounce bag, it is effectively suited to routines where shoppers want a ready‑to‑brew option without grinding. Owner patterns suggest it’s popular for daily household use and for people who want a cup that leans smooth rather than punchy. The listing also notes the company sells single‑serve cups and whole bean options in other SKUs — but this specific item is ground, so people who need whole bean for espresso or specific grinders should buy the whole‑bean product instead.

Materials & build quality

In the context of coffee, “materials” means bean provenance, roast method, and packaging. Here’s what the listing and manufacturer copy actually state.

  • Bean type: The listing describes the product as "100% Premium Arabica coffee."
  • Growing region: The listing claims the coffee is grown "in the rich soil on the Big Island of Hawai'i and along the Pacific Coast."
  • Roast method: The product is described as "slow roasted" and "small batch roasting" intended to lock in natural sugars and bring out volcanic Hawaiian flavors.
  • Company scale and facilities: The listing notes Hawaiian Paradise Coffee was launched in 2000 and says the company is one of Hawaii’s larger roasters and supplies many hotels and restaurants across the islands; it also references a "state‑of‑the‑art facility" that supplies fresh coffee daily to foodservice partners.
  • Product format and sizing: The specific SKU is a ground 12‑ounce bag. The product dimensions listed are 8.62 x 4.88 x 3.07 inches and package weight is listed as 12.7 ounces in the specifications block.

That is the full set of build/provenance statements available from the listing. The company copy also mentions sustainability and responsibly sourced coffee in broad terms, and the listing highlights that they produce estate coffee, signature blends, flavored coffees, and single‑serve options across other SKUs.

Safety considerations

For grocery items the safety checklist usually includes food‑contact information, allergen/flavor labeling, and any known recall or certification statements. From the product data and owner notes:

  • The listing does not provide independent certification details (for example, it does not state organic, fair trade, or third‑party food safety certifications in the product bullets). The manufacturer copy references sustainability and responsibly sourced practices but does not list certifying bodies in the product facts.
  • Owners do not report health or safety incidents in the feedback themes provided; the primary critical signals are about flavor expectations (some buyers perceived a flavored note they did not expect) and value relative to price (some owners felt it was not as flavorful as expected).
  • If you require certified sourcing or specific food‑safety credentials for purchases, the listing does not specify those certifications — verify the current listing or manufacturer documentation before buying if that matters to you.
  • There is no product recall information included in the listing data provided here; the listing doesn't specify recalls or safety advisories.

Bottom line on safety: there are no explicit safety red flags in the listing or owner notes supplied, but the listing also doesn’t show third‑party certifications in the product bullets. Buyers with strict certification requirements or who need assurance about non‑flavored commodities should check the live listing or manufacturer details before purchasing.

Who this is for / who should skip

Match the product to the shopper based on listing promises and owner experience patterns.

Who this is a good fit for

  • Buyers who want a ready‑to‑brew 12‑ounce ground coffee from a brand that emphasizes Hawaiian origins and small‑batch roasting. The listing positions the beans as 100% Premium Arabica grown in Hawaii and along the Pacific Coast and slow roasted to emphasize natural sugars.
  • People who enjoyed Hawaiian coffee on vacation and want something that recalls that profile — owner feedback repeatedly describes nostalgia and positive ties to Hawaii experiences.
  • Shoppers looking for a smooth, mellow daily cup rather than a highly intense or very bright brew. Many owners specifically mention a balanced, smooth finish and pleasant aroma.
  • Gifts and souvenir‑style purchases. Owners report that recipients enjoyed the coffee and that it works well as a taste‑of‑Hawaii gift.

Who should skip this bag

  • Buyers who are sensitive to flavored coffees or who expect an unambiguously single‑origin, unflavored profile. A portion of owner feedback reports perceiving a flavored taste that they didn’t expect; if you want a clearly declared single‑origin natural cup, the listing’s blended small‑batch language may not meet that need.
  • Shoppers who demand specific third‑party certifications (organic, fair trade, etc.) — the listing doesn’t list certifying bodies in the product bullets and packaging details provided here don’t show certification marks.
  • People who require whole‑bean coffee for home espresso or custom grinding. This SKU is ground (12‑ounce ground bag); Hawaiian Paradise Coffee does offer whole‑bean SKUs elsewhere according to the listing, but this specific product is ground.
  • Buyers who are especially price‑sensitive and expect intense, specialty‑grade complexity for the price. Some owners noted the flavor intensity felt light relative to cost expectations.

Verdict

Hawaiian Paradise Coffee’s Hawaiian Roast (12oz ground) is a clearly positioned retail product: the listing claims 100% Premium Arabica beans grown in Hawaii and the Pacific Coast, slow roasted in small batches, and finished to a smooth cup with sweet undertones. Owner feedback largely supports that claim — many buyers call it smooth, balanced, and a pleasant daily cup that evokes Hawaii. That makes it a sensible pick for people who want a mellow, souvenir‑style or giftable coffee in a ready‑to‑brew ground form.

However, the product is not without caveats. A measurable minority of buyers report an unexpected flavored character and some felt the bag didn’t offer the intensity they expected for the price. The listing’s product bullets emphasize sustainability and large‑scale distribution in Hawaii, but do not provide third‑party certification details in the product facts shown here. If you’re sensitive to flavored coffees or require explicit certifications (organic, certified sustainable, etc.), verify the current listing or consider a whole‑bean single‑origin option from the brand if that better matches your needs.

Check before you buy (short checklist)

  • Confirm this SKU is the ground 12‑ounce bag (the listing title and specs show "Ground 12oz. Bag").
  • Decide whether you want a smooth, small‑batch Hawaiian blend (the listing promises sweet undertones and a smooth finish) or a more intense, single‑origin cup.
  • If you’re avoiding flavored coffee, be aware that some owners reported a flavored taste; verify ingredient/flavor labeling on the current product page.
  • If third‑party certification matters (organic, fair trade, etc.), check the live listing or manufacturer documentation for certifier logos or claims; the provided listing bullets do not name certifications.
  • Remember this is a ground coffee bag — if you need whole bean for grinding, the brand offers whole bean SKUs separately according to the listing.

Final take: good for nostalgia‑minded drinkers and those who prefer a smooth, approachable cup; skip if you need explicit certification or a non‑flavored, high‑intensity specialty coffee.

FAQ

  1. Is this coffee 100% Arabica?

    The listing describes this Hawaiian Roast as "100% Premium Arabica coffee."

  2. Is the product whole bean or ground?

    The product title and specifications show this SKU as a ground 12‑ounce bag (the listing title reads "Ground 12oz. Bag" and the unit is listed as 12 Ounce).

  3. Where are the beans grown?

    The listing claims the beans are grown "in the rich soil on the Big Island of Hawai'i and along the Pacific Coast."

  4. Does this coffee contain added flavors (vanilla, hazelnut, etc.)?

    The listing describes the roast as having sweet undertones and a smooth finish but does not list added flavorings in the product bullets; however, several owners report perceiving a flavored note and one owner described it as "horribly flavored." If added flavors are a concern, verify current ingredient or flavor labeling on the live product page.

  5. What size is the bag and what are the package dimensions?

    The product is a 12‑ounce unit and the listing lists package dimensions of 8.62 x 4.88 x 3.07 inches and a package weight of 12.7 ounces in the specifications.

  6. Is Hawaiian Paradise Coffee a large roaster or a small company?

    The manufacturer copy states the brand was launched in 2000 and that it has become one of Hawaii’s larger foodservice coffee roasters by volume; it also says the company supplies many hotels and restaurants across the islands and operates a state‑of‑the‑art facility according to the listing.

  7. Are there sustainability or sourcing claims?

    The listing uses language such as "quality and sustainability" and says they have produced "Quality, Earth‑Friendly Responsibly Sourced coffee," but the provided product facts do not list third‑party certification names — check the current listing or manufacturer documentation if you need certified sourcing details.

  8. What do owners say about durability or freshness over time?

    Owner feedback centers on flavor and value; buyers repeatedly praise a smooth, mellow cup, while some report an unexpected flavored taste or weaker flavor intensity for the price. The listing does not specify shelf life in the product bullets; verify freshness or roast date details on the current listing if that is important to you.

Frequently asked questions

Is this coffee 100% Arabica?

The listing describes this Hawaiian Roast as "100% Premium Arabica coffee."

Is the product whole bean or ground?

The product title and specifications show this SKU as a ground 12‑ounce bag (the listing title reads "Ground 12oz. Bag" and the unit is listed as 12 Ounce).

Where are the beans grown?

The listing claims the beans are grown "in the rich soil on the Big Island of Hawai'i and along the Pacific Coast."

Does this coffee contain added flavors (vanilla, hazelnut, etc.)?

The listing describes the roast as having sweet undertones and a smooth finish but does not list added flavorings in the product bullets; however, several owners report perceiving a flavored note and one owner described it as "horribly flavored." If added flavors are a concern, verify current ingredient or flavor labeling on the live product page.

What size is the bag and what are the package dimensions?

The product is a 12‑ounce unit and the listing lists package dimensions of 8.62 x 4.88 x 3.07 inches and a package weight of 12.7 ounces in the specifications.

Are there sustainability or sourcing claims?

The listing uses language such as "quality and sustainability" and says they have produced "Quality, Earth‑Friendly Responsibly Sourced coffee," but the provided product facts do not list third‑party certification names — check the current listing or manufacturer documentation if you need certified sourcing details.

What do owners say about durability or freshness over time?

Owner feedback centers on flavor and value; buyers repeatedly praise a smooth, mellow cup, while some report an unexpected flavored taste or weaker flavor intensity for the price. The listing does not specify shelf life in the product bullets; verify freshness or roast date details on the current listing if that is important to you.

Think it’s right for your kitchen?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.