DEMULLER

DEMULLER 4 cu ft Mini Chest Freezer review

Mini Chest Freezer Top Open Door Small Freezer Deep Freezer with Removable Storage Basket for Home Kitchen Garage Black

92.2 Dude Score

Intro

If you need a small, top-opening chest freezer for an apartment, office, or garage, the DEMULLER mini chest freezer (model YX-D-79-BLACK-Y) is one of the compact options you’ll see in listings. It’s a compressor model with electronic temperature control, metal top door, and a 4.0 cubic-foot capacity in the configuration covered here. The listing calls out a -12°F to 50°F temperature range, a 75-watt rated power, and a claimed 0.56 kWh/24h energy draw. Owners who’ve lived with it report quiet operation and useful interior dimensions, but also point out a few fit-and-finish issues you should expect when buying small appliances shipped in boxes.

What it is / first look

This is a freestanding, top-open chest freezer available in at least two colors (BLACK and WHITE) and multiple sizes (3.5, 4.0, and 5.0 cu.ft. are listed). The model here is the 4.0 cu.ft. unit and the exterior dimensions on the listing are 16.5"D x 24.6"W x 30"H. The door material is listed as metal, it includes one shelf, and the box contents are stated as: Basket, Build-in Handle, Drain Hole, Instruction manual, and Electronic Temp Control. The manufacturer warranty description on the listing is 1 years.

On the control side, the freezer has an electronic screen that displays the internal temperature and allows precise temperature setting. The listing shows a temperature range from -12°F to 50°F and instructs users to press and hold the "UNLOCK" button for 3 seconds to change temperature; the manufacturer recommends setting to -15°F for initial rapid cooling. The listing also describes a compressor-based refrigeration system with a built-in D-shaped cooling tube for 360° cooling and calls out low-noise operation.

Available colors (inferred from the listing and image assets):

  • BLACK
  • WHITE

In daily use

Owners report a number of practical day-to-day behaviors that matter more than specs alone. The repeated positive notes are quiet operation, compact footprint, and interior usability.

Apartment & small kitchens

For an apartment or small kitchen, the 24.6" width and 30" height make this freezer compact enough to tuck into a narrow spot. Owners who use the 4.0 cu.ft. model for snacks and overflow report it is "perfect for the kitchen" and large enough to hold regular frozen snacks and a container or two for emergency ice. One owner specifically mentions using the unit as a refrigerator set to 35°F with no damage reported to the machine, and noted very low yearly energy use in their experience (this is an owner report; the listing lists 0.56 kWh per 24 hours, which equals roughly 204 kWh/year if constant). If you’re keeping a few meal-prep containers or frozen essentials, the size and noise profile make it an unobtrusive option.

Garage, office, and shared spaces

Several owners say the freezer works well in a garage and for office use—storing snacks or breastmilk, for example—citing quiet operation and reliable cold. One owner noted the freezer "keeps everything frozen out in my garage." Another called it "great for an office." If you need a secondary freezer for overflow or snack storage away from the main kitchen, the DEMULLER 4.0 cu.ft. is commonly reported to fit that role.

Moving and placement notes

Owner feedback highlights portability: one user mentions the unit has rollers and is easy to move, which helps during installation or re-arranging a small space. The listing explicitly calls the installation type "freestanding" and includes adjustable balance feet to level the unit on uneven ground—there’s also a manufacturer reminder to place the freezer on a flat area.

Materials & build quality

Here’s what the listing and owners actually tell you about the build:

  • Door material: The listing specifies the door material type as metal.
  • Cooling system: The freezer uses a compressor and a built-in D-shaped cooling tube for what the listing describes as "360° cooling no dead angle inside the freezer."
  • Power/wattage: The listing shows a wattage of 75 watts.
  • Controls & features: Electronic temperature control and an electronic display are listed; the package includes a drain hole and a basket.
  • Warranty: The listing notes a 1 years warranty description.

What the listing does not specify: the listing doesn't specify the interior liner material, insulation type, or many of the surface materials beyond the door being metal. Because detailed materials and food-contact surface information are not listed, verify current manufacturer documentation if that matters to you.

Owner-reported details add context to raw specs. One owner shared inside measurements down to fractions of inches and described how baskets hang, which is useful if you plan to buy organizers to maximize the small internal volume. They found that some expandable stacking freezer organizer bins fit best in the bottom portion, but the baskets that come with the unit are relatively low and may limit tall items if left in place.

Safety considerations

There are a few explicit safety and practical instructions in the listing that you should treat as requirements, not suggestions:

  • Hinge angle: The listing says hinges hold the upper door open and that the machine opens at an angle of 45° to 75°. The listing warns: "Please do not open it too wide" and "Please try not to open it at a wide angle too often!" That is a built-in hardware limitation you must respect to avoid stressing the hinge.
  • Placement: The listing directs you to place the freezer on a flat area and notes adjustable balance feet to help level on uneven ground. Follow that guidance—an unlevel compressor freezer can vibrate or stress components.
  • Cleaning: The listing advises powering off and waiting for ice to melt, then opening the drain hole for cleaning, and generally recommends cleaning at least once a year. Owners echo that regular maintenance keeps seals and ice buildup in check.
  • Handle and delivery damage: Multiple owners point out fit-and-finish issues. One owner called out the handle as "not the best quality," and at least one buyer received a dented or scratched unit out of the box despite undamaged packaging. Inspect the unit on arrival and report shipping damage immediately through the seller channel you used—this is a logistics risk rather than a performance one, but it affects safety and usability if a hinge or lid is dented.

Other safety notes from the listing: The electronic temperature control and on-display temperature are listed features—follow the manufacturer’s instructions for setting and unlocking controls (the listing instructs pressing and holding "UNLOCK" for 3 seconds). For anything involving electrical safety, follow the manual and contact customer support per the listing if you see abnormal noise, heating, or smells; the listing includes a customer support mention for problem resolution.

Who this is for / who should skip

Good fit:

  • Apartment cooks and roommates who need overflow freezing for snacks, single-person meal prep, or emergency ice.
  • Small households or offices needing a quiet secondary freezer for snacks, breastmilk, or a compact cold storage solution—owners specifically mention office and garage use.
  • Shoppers who need clearly stated external dimensions: the listing gives exact exterior measurements (16.5"D x 24.6"W x 30"H) and owners have provided detailed interior measurements that make it easier to plan storage accessories.

Who should skip or consider alternatives:

  • Anyone who needs a large freezer: this is a 4.0 cu.ft. machine in this model; the listing also shows 3.5 and 5.0 cu.ft. sizes but the 4.0 will feel small for family bulk freezing.
  • Buyers requiring detailed material or food-contact certifications: the listing does not specify interior liner materials or third-party certifications. If you need specific materials or certifications, the listing doesn't provide them—verify with the manufacturer before purchase.
  • Customers who can't accept a chance of cosmetic damage in transit: a minority of owners received dented or scratched units; inspect on delivery and use the seller’s damage process if needed.

Verdict

Summary: The DEMULLER 4.0 cu.ft. mini chest freezer is a compact, compressor-driven chest freezer with an electronic temperature display and a broad listed temperature range (-12°F to 50°F). The listing emphasizes low noise and a claimed 0.56 kWh/24h power draw, while owners repeatedly report quiet operation, practical internal dimensions, and good performance as a secondary unit for kitchens, offices, or garages. Recurring caveats include modest handle quality and the occasional delivery dent or scratch.

If you want a simple, small chest freezer to hold volume-limited frozen goods or use as a fridge alternative in a small space, this unit checks the basic boxes per the listing and owner reports. If you need premium build materials, detailed food-contact specs, or a large-capacity unit, look at larger models or verify material details with the seller; the listing does not provide interior material specifics.

Check before you buy

  • Confirm the exterior dimensions (listed as 16.5"D x 24.6"W x 30"H) fit your intended spot and that the top lid can be opened comfortably within the 45°–75° hinge range.
  • Decide whether 4.0 cu.ft. capacity suits your needs; the listing also shows 3.5 and 5.0 cu.ft. options if you need slightly different sizes.
  • Note the listed temperature range (-12°F to 50°F) and the manufacturer’s recommendation to start at -15°F for rapid cooling; use the electronic control and the listed unlock procedure (press and hold "UNLOCK" for 3 seconds) to change settings.
  • Expect the unit to be freestanding with adjustable balance feet; plan for a flat placement surface and inspect for rollers if you need to move it—owners report rollers but the listing emphasizes adjustable feet and freestanding install.
  • Inspect the freezer on delivery for dents or scratches and test the lid/hinge. If damaged, report it through the seller’s returns/damage process—owners sometimes received units with dents.
  • Verify the parts list (Basket, Build-in Handle, Drain Hole, Instruction manual, Electronic Temp Control) is complete when unboxing; the listing notes a drain hole for defrosting and advises cleaning at least once a year.
  • Check warranty coverage—listing describes a 1-year warranty—and confirm current warranty specifics with the seller or manufacturer if that’s a buying factor.

Overall: A practical compact chest freezer that matches many small-space needs. The listing’s compressor-driven cooling, electronic temp control, and included basket are useful, and owner feedback generally supports quiet, reliable use. Balance those positives with the occasional cosmetic transit damage and modest hardware finish noted by owners.

Frequently asked questions

What are the external dimensions of this freezer?

The listing lists the item dimensions as 16.5"D x 24.6"W x 30"H.

How much usable space does the 4.0 cu.ft. model have inside?

The listing states the unit capacity is 4.0 cubic feet. One owner supplied detailed interior measurements and noted basket clearances and that adjustable stacking organizer bins fit best in the bottom portion; that owner’s inside measurements are reported in the product notes (owners can use those to plan baskets or organizers).

What is the temperature range and how do I change it?

The listing gives a temperature range of -12°F to 50°F and describes an electronic screen. To change temperature the listing instructs to press and hold the "UNLOCK" button for 3 seconds; the manufacturer recommends setting to -15°F the first time for rapid cooling.

How much electricity does it use?

The listing claims the freezer needs 0.56 kWh of electricity every 24 hours. One owner reported seeing around 172 kWh per year with their usage set at 35°F, and noted the 0.56 kWh/day figure equals about 204 kWh/year (that owner suggested the yearly number may vary by model).

Does the freezer come with baskets or rollers?

The listing lists included components as Basket, Build-in Handle, Drain Hole, Instruction manual, and Electronic Temp Control. The listing itself does not explicitly mention rollers, but at least one owner reports the unit has rollers and found it easy to move.

What should I know about lid/hinge safety and maintenance?

The listing says hinges hold the upper door open and the door opens at an angle of 45° to 75°, and it specifically warns not to open it too wide or do so often. For cleaning the listing advises powering off, waiting for ice to melt, opening the drain hole, and recommends cleaning at least once a year.

Is the interior material or food-contact material specified?

The listing does not specify the interior liner material or detailed food-contact materials; the door material is listed as metal but specific interior materials are not described in the product listing.

What warranty does this freezer have?

The listing shows a warranty description of 1 years.

Think it’s right for your kitchen?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.