Gear check

BLACK+DECKER 1.5-Cup Chopper review — compact electric chopper

BLACK+DECKER 1.5-Cup Electric Food Chopper, One Touch Pulse, 150W Motor, Stay-Sharp Blade, Dishwasher Safe

95.1 Dude Score

Intro

The BLACK+DECKER 1.5-Cup One-Touch Electric Food Chopper is a pint-sized corded chopper aimed at cooks who want a fast, simple tool for herbs, dips, and small prep tasks. The listing positions it as an inexpensive, easy-to-store device with a bi-level stainless steel blade, dishwasher-safe removable parts, and one-touch pulse control. Owners repeatedly call it handy, sharp, and surprisingly powerful for its size. This review pulls together the product specs and repeated owner feedback so you know how it behaves in real kitchens and what to check before you press the pulse button.

What it is / first look

The product is listed under the model HC150B and identified as a BLACK+DECKER 1.5-Cup One-Touch Electric Food Chopper. The listing includes these hard specs: a bowl capacity of 1.5 cups, item dimensions of 4"D x 6.5"W x 5"H, item weight of 1.2 pounds, and a stated color of Black. Included components are the base, blade, bowl, and lid. The listing also says removable parts are dishwasher-safe and advertises a "bi-level stainless steel" blade.

There is one notable inconsistency in the listing's power specification: the product title and feature bullets state a 150W motor, while the formal specifications section lists the wattage as 70 watts. The listing also specifies Voltage: 240 volts and Power Source: Corded Electric. Given that discrepancy, verify the current listing or manufacturer documentation for the motor rating before you buy.

First impressions from the listing

  • Compact 1.5-cup bowl for small prep tasks.
  • Bi‑level stainless steel blade; listed as "stay sharp".
  • One-touch pulse control and manual special feature.
  • Dishwasher-safe removable parts for cleanup.
  • Corded electric, with Voltage shown as 240 volts in the specs.
  • Included components: base, blade, bowl, lid; 2 Year Limited Manufacturer warranty.

In daily use

Owners overwhelmingly describe this chopper as a tool for quick, small jobs rather than bulk prep. The repeated owner theme is "very handy for small jobs": people use it to chop herbs, grind nuts or crackers for crusts, make small batches of pesto, salsa, hummus, or vinaigrette, and even to process small amounts of meat. That pattern in feedback is the clearest signal of how the unit is used day-to-day.

Speed & control

The chopper operates with a single speed and a one-touch pulse control, according to the listing. Owners note that the longer you pulse, the finer the result — that aligns with the one-speed/pulse design. Because there's only a pulse control and no variable speed dial, you should expect to manage texture primarily by the length and number of pulses.

Performance on common tasks

  • Herbs and aromatics: Owners report quick, even chopping and praise the blade sharpness for clean mincing of parsley, cilantro, garlic, and onions.
  • Dips & sauces: The listing highlights making hummus and vinaigrette (and specifically calls out oil holes for adding oil while mixing). Owners confirm it handles small batches of dips and sauces well.
  • Nuts, crackers & dry ingredients: Several owners used it for nuts and graham crackers and reported satisfactory results for crusts and toppings.
  • Small amounts of meat: A number of owners say they’ve processed small portions of meat successfully. Remember the bowl is 1.5 cups — this is suitable for tiny batches, not grinding large volumes.

Cleaning & upkeep

The listing states all removable parts are dishwasher-safe, and owners commonly describe it as easy to assemble and clean. That simplicity — a few removable pieces (base, blade, bowl, lid) — is consistently praised and makes it a grab-and-go countertop tool for people who don’t want a fussy appliance to maintain.

Storage & footprint

At roughly 4"D x 6.5"W x 5"H and 1.2 pounds, the unit is small and lightweight according to the listing. Owners repeatedly note the compact size and easy storage, which is one reason it gets frequent use rather than being boxed away.

Materials & build quality

The listing lists Material: Plastic and Blade Material: Stainless Steel. The blade is described in marketing text as a "bi-level stainless steel blade" and in bullets as "stay sharp stainless steel blades" that provide long-lasting performance. The included components in the listing are base, blade, bowl, and lid. Warranty info in the listing is a 2 Year Limited Manufacturer warranty.

Owners describe the blades as "razor sharp" and note they remain effective for chopping — that repeated owner comment supports the listing's claim about blade performance. Beyond the blades and the stated plastic body, the listing doesn't give material-grade details (for example, the listing doesn't specify what type of plastic or food-contact certifications). If you need specific material assurances for food-contact components, the listing doesn't specify those certifications, so verify the current manufacturer documentation.

Fit & finish

Owner impressions emphasize a lightweight, simple build. Several reviewers called it "cute," "lightweight," and "good quality" for the price. The listing's included components and the small parts count (base, blade, bowl, lid) point to straightforward assembly and limited places for failure in normal use — but the listing doesn't provide details on replacement parts availability or repairability.

Safety considerations

There are two safety threads to pay attention to from the listing and owner feedback:

  1. Sharp blades: Owners frequently warn the blades are very sharp. The listing calls the blade "stay sharp stainless steel," and multiple owners use phrases like "razor sharp (so be careful)" and recommend caution when handling, cleaning, or removing the blade. Treat the blade carefully, keep fingers away when assembling or removing, and follow manufacturer instructions for safe handling.
  2. Power & voltage discrepancy: The listing has an inconsistency on motor wattage: the title and bullets say 150W motor while the specifications list the wattage as 70 watts. The listing also specifies Voltage: 240 volts and Power Source: Corded Electric. Because motor power and voltage affect how you use the device and which outlets are suitable, verify the current listing/manufacturer documentation before purchasing. If your household voltage differs, check compatibility — the listing does not specify region or plug details.

Other general safety notes derived from the listing and owner patterns:

  • The product is a corded electric appliance; the listing gives voltage and power-source details but does not list third-party electrical safety certifications. The listing doesn't specify UL, ETL, or other marks; if certification is important to you, confirm current manufacturer documentation.
  • The listing describes dishwasher-safe removable parts. Owners say they use the dishwasher; still, handle the blade cautiously when loading and unloading to avoid cuts.
  • The listing specifies a 2 Year Limited Manufacturer warranty — keep purchase and warranty documentation in case of defects or failures within that period.

Who this is for / who should skip

Use-case advice comes directly from the listed capacity, design, and repeated owner signals.

Best for

  • Singles, couples, or small households that need quick, small-portion prep (the listing capacity is 1.5 cups).
  • Cooks who want a compact appliance that’s easy to store and clean — owners praise the small footprint and dishwasher-safe removable parts.
  • People who need a simple one-touch pulse chopper for herbs, small amounts of veggies, nuts, crackers, and small batches of dips or sauces.
  • Home cooks trying to avoid pulling out a full-size food processor for tiny tasks — owners say they use it more often than expected because of its convenience.

Who should skip this

  • Anyone who needs to process large volumes; the listing clearly states 1.5-cup capacity (the listing also shows a separate 3-cup option if you need a larger bowl).
  • Shoppers who need documented material certifications or regional voltage/plug details — the listing doesn't specify food-contact certifications or plug/region compatibility beyond a Voltage: 240 volts spec.
  • Users who require variable speed control rather than a single-speed/pulse setup; the listing lists Number of Speeds: 1 and one-touch pulse control.

Verdict

What the BLACK+DECKER 1.5-Cup One-Touch Electric Food Chopper promises in its listing and what owners report line up for a clear, practical purpose: a tiny, inexpensive chopper that handles frequent small kitchen tasks with a sharp stainless-steel blade and simple one-touch control. Owners repeatedly highlight the small footprint, sharp blade, and ease of cleaning as the product's biggest wins — and those themes match the listing's marketing points.

The key caveat is a discrepancy in the listing’s power specs (150W in title/bullets vs. 70 watts in the formal spec) and the listing’s explicit Voltage entry (240 volts). Those are purchase-relevant technical details you should confirm on the current product listing or with the manufacturer, especially if you're outside the voltage range implied or you expect a 150W motor. Beyond that, owners' repeated praise for small-batch performance and blade sharpness makes this a reliable budget option for quick prep — as long as you stick to the 1.5-cup recommended volume and handle the blade carefully.

Check before you buy

  • Confirm the motor wattage — the listing contains both 150W and 70 watts in different places.
  • Verify voltage and plug compatibility for your region (the listing lists Voltage: 240 volts).
  • Make sure 1.5-cup capacity fits your typical batch sizes; a 3-cup option is shown elsewhere in the listing if you need more capacity.
  • Note the stated blade material (stainless steel) and that owners report the blades are very sharp; plan safe handling and cleaning accordingly.
  • Check the 2 Year Limited Manufacturer warranty details and keep purchase documentation in case of problems.
  • If material certifications or replacement parts are important, request or verify that information with the manufacturer — the listing does not specify food-contact certifications or replacement-part availability.

Overall: a compact, budget-friendly chopper that does what it’s advertised to do for small tasks. Owners’ repeated positive comments on sharpness, convenience, and performance back up the listing claims — just verify the motor and voltage details for your situation and handle the blade with care.

Colors

Available colors may include:

  • Black

Specifications (from the listing)

  • Model number: HC150B
  • Manufacturer: Spectrum Brands
  • Brand Name: BLACK+DECKER
  • Size / Capacity: 1.5 cups (listing shows an available 3-cup size option separately)
  • Wattage: 70 watts (specifications) — note the product title and bullets also reference 150W
  • Voltage: 240 volts
  • Power Source: Corded Electric
  • Number of Speeds: 1 (one-touch pulse control)
  • Material: Plastic; Blade Material: Stainless Steel
  • Included Components: Base, Blade, Bowl, Lid
  • Item Dimensions: 4"D x 6.5"W x 5"H
  • Item Weight: 1.2 pounds
  • Color: Black
  • Warranty: 2 Year Limited Manufacturer
  • Product care: Dishwasher Safe (removable parts), hand wash

Frequently asked questions

How much will the bowl hold?

The listing states a 1.5-cup bowl capacity for this model. The listing also shows a separate 3-cup option elsewhere if you need a larger capacity.

Is it dishwasher-safe?

The listing specifies that removable parts are dishwasher-safe and owners commonly report using the dishwasher for cleanup.

How powerful is the motor?

The listing contains conflicting information: the product title and feature bullets mention a 150W motor, while the formal specifications list the wattage as 70 watts. Verify the current listing or manufacturer documentation for the definitive motor rating.

Can it chop meat or nuts?

Owners report using the chopper for small portions of meat, nuts, and similar items. Keep in mind the bowl capacity is 1.5 cups, so it's intended for small batches rather than large volumes.

What voltage and power source does it use?

The listing specifies Power Source: Corded Electric and Voltage: 240 volts. Confirm compatibility with your household outlets before purchasing.

What safety precautions should I take?

The listing and owners both highlight that the stainless-steel blades are very sharp. Handle the blade carefully when assembling, cleaning, or unloading; follow manufacturer instructions for safe handling.

What warranty does the product have?

The listing describes a 2 Year Limited Manufacturer warranty.

Think it’s right for your kitchen?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.