Antarctic Star

Antarctic Star 24-inch Wine Fridge Review

Antarctic Star 24 Inch Wine Fridge, 52 Bottle Wine Cooler Refrigerator. 39-64°F Dual Zone Wine Refrigerator Glass Door, Built in or Freestanding Under Counter Fridge for Home Bar Office

92.1 Dude Score

Intro

This review looks at the Antarctic Star 24-inch wine fridge (model JC-140DB). It’s a compressor-driven, dual-zone undercounter fridge that the listing ties to both a 46-bottle and a 52-bottle capacity claim, depending on which part of the listing you read. The unit is marketed with wood shelves, a stainless steel door and handle, and a double-layer tempered glass window. Owner feedback highlights good fit-and-finish for the price, reliable temperature control, and a few recurring issues — chiefly noisy cycling, confusing capacity claims, and a non-reversible door. Below I’ll break down what this fridge actually is, how it performs in daily use, the materials and build-quality signals, safety considerations, who should buy (and who should skip), and a clear verdict with a "check before you buy" checklist.

What it is / first look

At a glance the Antarctic Star JC-140DB positions itself as a compact dual-zone wine cellar meant for built-in or freestanding undercounter installation. The listing presents a mix of capacity claims — the product title and some specification fields reference 52 bottles, while the feature bullets state a 46-bottle capacity. Specifications list a 5.65 cubic feet gross capacity and a refrigerator net capacity of 5 cubic feet. Physical dimensions are 22.5" deep x 23.4" wide x 33.9" high, and weight is listed as 92.4 pounds. The unit runs on 115 volts, uses a compressor cooling method, and lists configuration R600a.

Key listing/spec highlights:

  • Model: JC-140DB (Brand: Antarctic Star)
  • Dimensions: 22.5" D x 23.4" W x 33.9" H; Item weight 92.4 lb
  • Capacity: listing text varies (46-bottle text claim; product title and unit count reference 52 bottles). Refrigeration net capacity: 5 cu ft; gross capacity 5.65 cu ft
  • Dual zone temperature ranges listed: top 39–50°F, bottom 50–64°F
  • Cooling: compressor with fan circulation; defrost system type: manual
  • Shelves: 6 wood shelves, adjustable; some shelves on slide-out tracks
  • Door: single door with double-layer tempered glass and stainless steel handle (listed by the manufacturer)
  • Annual energy consumption: 191 kWh/year; warranty: 1 year

First impressions from owners

Owners consistently describe the unit as heavy, well-packed at delivery, and visually appealing. Multiple buyers note that the shelving rides on slide-out mechanisms (making bottle access smoother), that the top cold zone and bottom warm zone hold their setpoints, and that the blue LED interior lighting is attractive (and switchable). Packaging and delivery are repeatedly called out as solid.

In daily use

Owner experiences provide the bulk of real-world signals for day-to-day performance. Several clear patterns come through in the research notes: temperature stability and quiet performance are often praised; capacity and noise-cycle behavior are frequent topics of complaint or nuance; door orientation and shelf layout catch buyers by surprise when they expect full flexibility.

Temperature control & storage

Multiple owners report the dual-zone setup holds set temperatures well. The listing specifies the upper zone can be set between 39°F and 50°F and the lower zone between 50°F and 64°F. Owners describe the top zone as reliably colder and the lower zone warmer, which aligns with the listing's stated ranges. One repeated note: the unit enforces the colder zone on top and the warmer on bottom without flexible placement — there is a hard separator where the controls sit, so you can’t simply shift the zones around.

Noise, vibration, and compressor behavior

Owners generally call the fridge "quiet" and "low vibration" in line with the listing’s marketing, but several buyers report more frequent cycling and audible noises than they expected. Comments include a recurring “clunk” when the compressor switches on/off and intermittent fan noises that run without the compressor. For many this is a mild annoyance rather than a dealbreaker, but buyers planning to place the unit near bedrooms should consider the reports of near-constant cycling and bright display lights mentioned by at least one owner.

Shelf layout, bottle capacity, and real-world fit

This is where owner feedback diverges most sharply from listing marketing. The listing alternates between 46-bottle and 52-bottle claims; one owner called out an advertised 28-bottle claim as misleading in their case. Several owners note that the shelves can only hold about four standard bottles each — and wider or larger bottles reduce that number to three or fewer per shelf. The practical takeaway: don’t rely on the headline bottle number alone. Measure your typical bottles and compare them to the shelf spacing — owners report the lower shelves sometimes have more headroom and the bottom shelf may not ride on slides (owner notes indicate the bottom shelf is a loose shelf without slides on some units).

Installation & fit

Owners say the unit fits neatly under counters where other compact fridges have been removed, and one owner successfully replaced a trash compactor with this refrigerator and reported it looks integrated. The listing dimensions (22.5"D x 23.4"W x 33.9"H) are the authoritative numbers you should compare to your space. Multiple buyers mention the door hinges and handle geometry allow the unit to be pushed flush to cabinets without obstructing the hinge — a positive for built-in installations — but owners also report the door is not reversible.

Materials & build quality

The listing repeatedly markets a few core material features: wood shelves, a stainless steel door and handle, and a double-layer tempered glass window. The listing also calls out adjustable wood racks and a fan circulation system combined with a low-vibration compressor.

What is listed versus what owners report:

  • Shelves: The listing describes wood shelves and owners confirm wooden racks, with many noting that most of the shelves slide smoothly on tracks. A recurring detail is that the bottom shelf may be different — several buyers report the bottom shelf is not on the same sliding tracks as the others and sits loose.
  • Door and glass: The listing calls the door a frost-free stainless steel door with a double-layer tempered glass window that the copy claims protects against UV and provides a tight seal. Owners describe the door and handle as well finished and attractive. The listing's claim of "frost-free" stands in contrast to the specifications, which list the defrost system type as "Manual." That inconsistency is in the listing copy.
  • Controls and finish: Buyers describe firm buttons and a bright LED display that is easy to read but can be bright if the unit sits near a bedroom. Controls are not reported as finicky; owners say the temperature setpoints are straightforward and stable once chosen.

Overall build impressions from buyers lean positive: "well-made" and "solid" appear repeatedly. Several owners mention the unit arrived heavy and well-packed, and that fit-and-finish compares favorably to other budget dual-zone fridges they’ve owned.

Safety considerations

The listing and owner notes provide a few safety-relevant data points to weigh before purchase.

  • Door orientation: Multiple owners note the door hinge is fixed and the handle is on the left; the hinge does not appear to be designed to be reversed. If you need a right-swing door, owner reports suggest this model is not reversible.
  • Defrost system vs. listing copy: The specification lists a manual defrost system, while some product copy includes the term "Frost-Free" in the feature bullets. That contradiction matters for maintenance: manual-defrost units require occasional defrosting per the manufacturer instructions; verify the current listing/manual for the exact process and cadence.
  • Noise and placement: Owners report more frequent cycling and periodic compressor clunks/fan noise. This is primarily a comfort and placement concern — consider locating the fridge away from quiet sleeping areas if these noises would be a problem.
  • Electrical and installation: The unit runs on 115 volts; the listing does not specify cord length or plug profile beyond an owner mentioning a straight-in three-prong plug. Check clearance and cord routing before installation and verify the outlet location and circuit capacity in your kitchen.
  • Warranty and support: The listing lists a 1-year warranty. If long-term service is a priority, confirm the support and return policy with the seller or current documentation before purchase.

Kitchen-safety-first note: owners point to noisy cycling and bright display lights — these are not immediate hazards but are practical safety/comfort considerations when deciding placement. The listing does not specify certifications beyond the product facts and manufacturer copy; if you need specific third-party safety certifications, the listing doesn't provide them and you should verify the most current manufacturer documentation.

Who this is for / who should skip

This unit is best understood as a value-oriented, compact dual-zone wine fridge that visually punches above its price point and is intended for home use — particularly undercounter or freestanding in a home bar, kitchen, or office setting.

Best fits

  • Home cooks and collectors who want a built-in or freestanding undercounter dual-zone fridge with a stainless-steel door look and wood shelves.
  • Owners who value tidy shelf slides and an attractive interior light (blue LED) with a compact footprint (22.5"D x 23.4"W x 33.9"H).
  • People who prioritize accurate temperature setpoints in two zones (listing sets top 39–50°F and bottom 50–64°F) and a compressor-based cooling method.

Who should skip or look elsewhere

  • If you need a truly reversible-door model, this may not be the unit for you — owners report the door is not reversible and the hinge/handle are fixed.
  • If you need a fridge that reliably fits an advertised large bottle count — take the listing bottle numbers with caution. Owners report the practical bottle capacity is often smaller than headline claims and depends on bottle girth.
  • If you must place the unit adjacent to a bedroom or very quiet room, read owner reports on cycling and intermittent fan/compressor noises before committing.

Verdict

Antarctic Star’s JC-140DB delivers strong value for buyers who want a compact, attractive dual-zone wine fridge with wood shelves, a stainless-steel door look, and clear temperature ranges for storing reds and whites separately. Owner feedback repeatedly praises packaging, build appearance, sliding wooden racks, and stable temperature control. On the other hand, listing inconsistencies about bottle capacity and defrosting, reports of more frequent compressor/fan cycling, and a non-reversible door reduce its fit for buyers who need strict capacity guarantees, absolute quiet, or left/right door flexibility.

Check before you buy

  1. Confirm the exact bottle capacity with the current listing or seller — the listing contains both 46-bottle and 52-bottle claims, and owners report real-world capacity is often lower than the headline number.
  2. Measure your available undercounter space against the listed dimensions (22.5"D x 23.4"W x 33.9"H) and plan for the straight-in three-prong plug and cord routing.
  3. Decide whether a manual-defrost unit fits your maintenance preferences — specifications list defrost type as manual, while product copy also uses the term "frost-free" (an internal contradiction you should clarify with the seller/manufacturer).
  4. Ask about door swing/reversibility if you need a right- or left-swing door — owner reports indicate the door is fixed with the handle on the left side.
  5. Confirm warranty/service options — the listing lists a 1-year warranty; verify current support terms and local service options before purchasing.

Final take: a solid mid-range option with attractive styling and dependable dual-zone cooling for casual collectors and hosts — but verify the bottle capacity you need, and be mindful of placement if noise sensitivity is a concern.

Colors and finishes (inferred from images and listing copy)

The listing explicitly describes a stainless steel door and handle and owners mention a black power cord and a blue internal LED. The listing's image filenames don’t list color names. Available images and the manufacturer copy suggest the following likely finish combinations — treat these as inferred rather than definitive color names:

  • stainless steel door with black cabinet/trim
  • black cabinet with stainless steel accents

In the product photos the unit shows a stainless-steel door/handle and a dark cabinet; verify the current listing to confirm available colorways and finishes.

Frequently asked questions

What are the unit dimensions and weight — will it fit under my counter?

The listing lists dimensions as 22.5" deep x 23.4" wide x 33.9" high and the item weight as 92.4 pounds. Measure your cabinet opening and compare to these numbers before installation.

How many bottles does it actually hold?

The listing contains mixed capacity claims: product title and some fields reference 52 bottles while the feature bullets state 46 bottles. Owners report practical capacity can be lower depending on bottle girth and shelf spacing, so verify the counting method on the current listing and compare it to your bottle sizes.

Are the temperature zones adjustable, and what ranges can they hold?

The listing says the upper zone can be set between 39°F and 50°F and the lower zone between 50°F and 64°F. Owner feedback indicates the top is reliably colder and the bottom warmer; the zones are fixed (colder on top, warmer on bottom).

Is the door reversible?

Owners report the door is not reversible: the handle is on the left and the hinges can't be swapped. If you need a specific door swing, verify with the current listing or seller.

What type of defrost system does it use?

The specification lists the defrost system type as Manual. Note that some product copy in the listing also uses the term "Frost-Free" for the door — the listing contains this inconsistency, so confirm in the current manual or seller documentation.

How noisy is the fridge?

Owners generally call it quiet and low vibration, but several buyers report more frequent cycling, occasional compressor "clunks," and intermittent fan noises. If noise is a critical factor, consider placement away from bedrooms and verify current owner reports.

What is the warranty?

The listing lists a 1-year warranty. For specifics on service or extended options, check the seller/manufacturer documentation prior to purchase.

What components and materials are listed for the interior shelving and door?

The listing specifies wood shelves (adjustable) and a double-layer tempered glass door with a stainless steel door and handle. Owners confirm wood shelving and sliding racks for most shelves; verify material details on the current listing if you need specific material assurances.

Think it’s right for your kitchen?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.