anova

Anova Precision Cooker Pro review — 1200W sous vide

Anova Culinary Sous Vide Precision Cooker Pro, 1200 Watts, Black and Silver

94.0 Dude Score

Intro

The Anova Precision Cooker Pro is the brand’s beefed‑up immersion circulator: a stainless‑steel, app‑controllable unit that lists 1200 watts, an IPX‑7 dunk rating, and a claimed ability to run for a minimum of 10,000 hours. It’s pitched at serious home cooks and light commercial kitchens that want faster heating and larger capacity than ultraportable wands. Owner reports praise its speed, app responsiveness, and steady temperatures — but recurring notes about plastic hardware, clamp fit, and a minority of early failures deserve attention before you commit.

What it is / first look

At a glance the Precision Cooker Pro is an immersion circulator built to sit on the side of a pot and maintain a precise water temperature for sous‑vide cooking. The listing lists a stainless‑steel construction, a 1200‑watt heater, and size and weight of roughly 2.4" x 3.5" x 13.8" and 3 pounds (item dimensions and item weight are listed in the product specs). It ships with the cooker and a clamp to attach the unit to a container.

Key specs and listing claims to hold in your head:

  • Wattage: 1200 watts (listed)
  • Temperature range: 32 °F to 197 °F (listed)
  • Construction: stainless steel (listed)
  • IP rating: IPX‑7 and drop tested (listed)
  • Capacity: listed as 50 liters; the listing also claims it can heat up to 100 L in a covered container
  • Controls: App control plus on‑device controls (listed)
  • Connectivity: Wi‑Fi 802.11 b/g/n 2.4 GHz; iOS and Android app (listed)
  • Warranty: listed 2‑year manufacturer warranty (listed)

Available colors and images

The listing identifies the color as Black and Silver. Image file names on the listing include a set of photos (B07QFC6LN6_6236.jpg, B07QFC6LN6_2518.jpg, B07QFC6LN6_4621.jpg, B07QFC6LN6_1561.jpg, B07QFC6LN6_5235.jpg, B07QFC6LN6_1437.jpg, B07QFC6LN6_978.jpg, B07QFC6LN6.jpg), which support the two‑tone look shown in the listing.

  • Listed color: Black and Silver
  • Listing image files: B07QFC6LN6_6236.jpg, B07QFC6LN6_2518.jpg, B07QFC6LN6_4621.jpg, B07QFC6LN6_1561.jpg, B07QFC6LN6_5235.jpg, B07QFC6LN6_1437.jpg, B07QFC6LN6_978.jpg, B07QFC6LN6.jpg

In daily use

Owners describe two consistent strengths: speed/heat power and simple controls. The 1200‑watt heater plus a larger diameter housing compared with smaller wands means it heats more water faster and moves more volume; owners report noticeably quicker heat‑up and stronger circulation than smaller models. Multiple owners praise the app as fast and responsive and note the ability to operate the Pro manually from the device itself as a key advantage over some other smart circulators that require an app to start a cook.

Home cooks and family kitchens

For people who cook sous‑vide weekly or for weekend batch cooks, the Pro’s faster heat‑up and higher capacity (listed 50 L and a claim of up to 100 L in a covered container) make it a good fit. Owners who use it several times per week report it holds temperature well and is "very quiet" or "whisper quiet." The app includes recipes and a manual control option, and the listing notes an optional subscription for expanded recipe content at $1.99/month or $9.99/year (two‑week free trial included).

Serious hobbyists, entertaining, and small commercial use

The listing positions this model as ruggedized for demanding kitchens: stainless‑steel construction, drop tested, IPX‑7 rated, and a stated minimum run life of 10,000 hours. Several owners who cook in heavier volumes (large roasts and long cooks) single out that claimed durability and the Pro’s stronger circulation as reasons they bought it. If you frequently cook large quantities — long prime‑rib cooks or multiple sous‑vide pans — the Pro was designed with that use in mind, per the listing.

What owners flagged about setup and controls

  • Most owners found app pairing quick when following instructions and on a 2.4 GHz Wi‑Fi network; one quick tip reported in owner notes is to disable Bluetooth first if pairing problems occur.
  • Owners repeatedly value that the unit can be run without Wi‑Fi — the on‑device controls are functional, which is helpful when you don’t want to depend on connectivity.
  • The app ecosystem includes an optional paid subscription for additional recipes and tracking; the listing describes the subscription price and the included two‑week trial.

Materials & build quality

The listing lists the material as stainless steel and describes the product as "constructed with stainless steel." That stainless outer sleeve and the heavier 1200W motor are core selling points; owners who like the Pro call it "sturdy" and describe a larger diameter and heavier feel versus slim wands.

Still, owner reports supply important qualifiers about the non‑stainless parts and fasteners. Multiple owners point out that some adjustment hardware — clamp pieces and control knobs — are plastic and can be brittle. One long‑time owner advises treating those plastic components gently and to avoid overtightening, noting the manual explicitly warns against over‑torquing the plastic knob/clamp. Another owner reported the elastic or rubber piece on the clamp can fall off easily; several asked the manufacturer to make that part more secure or include spares.

The listing claims the unit is drop tested and IPX‑7 rated, and several owners note being comfortable running the Pro continuously for long cooks. The listing also states the unit is "ruggedized" and "built for continuous use," and it claims a minimum of 10,000 hours of service life. That claim is supported by owner reports of extended multi‑year use in many cases, though a minority of owners reported early failures (see the longevity section).

Safety considerations

Safety‑first: the listing provides several concrete safety‑relevant specs — IPX‑7 rating (dunkable), stainless‑steel construction, 1200W power, and on‑device controls plus app control. IPX‑7 technically means the listing rates the unit to be submerged up to a certain depth for short periods; the listing explicitly states you can "drop the device on the floor or dunk the device under water, and you can keep on cooking." That IPX rating is an important reassurance for immersion use, and owners point to it as a reason they feel comfortable running the Pro for long cooks.

Owner feedback highlights a few safety and practical considerations you should plan for:

  • Clamp security and plastic fasteners: owners repeatedly mention plastic clamp parts and knobs can be brittle; follow the manual about not over‑tightening and check clamp fit before a long cook. The listing includes a clamp as an included component.
  • Power interruption risk: owners stress that lost power or aborted cycles can ruin a multi‑hour sous‑vide cook, and one owner notes the model does not include on‑board power‑interrupt protection — they recommended using an appropriately sized UPS if you’re doing very long unattended cooks. The listing does not claim integrated UPS or backup power.
  • Add‑water behavior: owner notes mention "add water" prompts and that the unit will suspend heating/circulation in low‑water conditions; follow the listing and the manual’s guidance on water level and manual resets to avoid interrupted cooks.
  • Coating or residue: some owners report residue forming on the heater over long use; the listing does not state this is a performance issue and owners say it did not affect function, but plan routine cleaning per the manual.
  • Temperature precision and food safety: the listing emphasizes precision (32 °F–197 °F) and the app helps pick time/temperature. This review doesn’t provide food‑safety or professional cooking advice — follow manufacturer instructions and food‑safety guidance for cook times and temperatures.

Who this is for / who should skip

Use cases where the Pro makes sense:

  • Weekly sous‑vide home cooks or hobbyists who want faster heating and stronger circulation than a compact wand — the 1200W motor and larger housing are listed strengths and owners notice quicker heat‑up.
  • Small commercial or high‑volume home cooks who need the durability claims: the listing markets this as ruggedized with a 10,000‑hour minimum run life and a 2‑year warranty.
  • Buyers who want both on‑device controls and app control — owners cite the manual controls as a decisive advantage over units that force app dependence.

Who should think twice or skip:

  • People who only plan one or two occasional short sous‑vide cooks per year — the Pro is built and priced for frequent use.
  • Those who want a completely maintenance‑free clamp and hardware — owner notes show some users have had clamp pieces or small rubber parts loosen or fall off and one reported a clamp break at several years of use.
  • Anyone unwilling to plan for power interruptions on long cooks — owners stress that a lost power event can interrupt cooking and that the unit requires manual reset behavior on long cooks, per owner notes.

Verdict

The Anova Precision Cooker Pro is a logical step up for cooks who want a durable, powerful sous‑vide circulator with on‑device controls plus app connectivity. The listing backs up the performance story with concrete specs: 1200W, stainless‑steel construction, IPX‑7 dunk rating, 32 °F–197 °F operating range, and a listed capacity of 50 liters (with a claim it can heat up to 100 liters in a covered container). Owners overwhelmingly praise its precise temperature control, strong circulation and responsive app, and many report years of reliable service.

That said, the research notes show a non‑trivial signal of hardware concerns for some buyers — plastic knobs/clamp parts that can be brittle, a rubber clamp piece that may fall off, and a small subset of failures that occurred very early. Anova’s listing does include a two‑year warranty and the company has replaced defective units for buyers in owner reports, but the presence of early failures means you should check fit and function immediately on arrival and keep your purchase documentation if you need warranty service.

Check before you buy — quick checklist

  • Confirm the listed specs you care about: 1200W, 32 °F–197 °F range, stainless‑steel construction, IPX‑7 rating, and 2‑year warranty.
  • Plan your container: the listing lists a 50 L capacity and claims up to 100 L in a covered container — think about pot diameter and water volume you’ll actually use.
  • Inspect clamp and knobs on arrival: owners report plastic clamp/knob parts can be fragile and a rubber piece may come loose; don’t over‑tighten and check for missing parts immediately.
  • Decide on connectivity: the Pro supports Wi‑Fi control and on‑device controls; owners value that it can run without app dependence.
  • Factor in power stability: for very long unattended cooks, consider a UPS sized for a 1200W device to protect against power interruptions (owners advise this). The listing does not include integrated backup power.
  • Keep warranty info handy: the listing lists a 2‑year manufacturer warranty in case of defects or early failure.

Overall, the Anova Precision Cooker Pro reads like a clear step toward professional‑style sous‑vide in the home: strong heat and circulation, a stainless exterior, dunkable rating, and app/manual controls. If you value those attributes and will use the device regularly, it’s a solid pick — but inspect the hardware on day one and keep the warranty information close in case you run into one of the minority of early failures owners have reported.

Frequently asked questions

What temperature range does the Pro support?

The listing states an upper temperature rating of 197 °F and a lower rating of 32 °F. Use the app or the cooker’s controls to set temperatures within that range.

How much water can it heat — will it handle large pots?

The product specs list a capacity of 50 liters, and the listing also claims the Pro can heat up to 100 L when run in a covered container. Think in terms of liters when planning pot size and covered vs. uncovered setups.

Does the cooker work without Wi‑Fi or a phone app?

Yes. The listing describes both app control and built‑in (manual) controls on the unit; owners emphasize the ability to operate the Pro manually rather than being forced to use the app.

Is the unit waterproof or safe to dunk?

The listing says the Pro is IPX‑7 rated and drop tested, and explicitly states you can dunk the device under water and continue to cook. That IPX‑7 rating is the listing’s claim for dunkability.

How long will it run and what is the warranty?

The listing claims the Pro is capable of running for a minimum of 10,000 hours straight and lists a 2‑year manufacturer warranty. Owners report many long runs and multi‑year use, though a minority reported early failures and warranty replacements.

Are there any common durability problems to watch for?

Owner feedback repeatedly mentions plastic clamp/knob parts can be brittle and that a small rubber piece on the clamp may fall off easily. Several owners recommend not over‑tightening plastic fasteners and inspecting clamp fit on arrival; the listing does not specify knob/clamp material.

Think it’s right for your kitchen?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.